Welcome to Librarium Online!
I'm lookin at the codex..and I'm wondering if you can twin-link a VC or BS on a warrior. All it says is that only 1 tyranid per brood may take a VC or BS. I would assume you can do it...but I would like to see what you guys have to say.
The codex says only 1 VC/BS can be chosen, to make it twin-linked you require 2 of the weapon which ain't possible.
No it doesn't say 1...it says this exactly... "Only one Tyranid Warrior per brood may take a barbed strangler or venom cannon." I interpret that as being able to take 2. If you weren't...then how else would they of said it? It wouldn't say ..."Only one Tyranid Warrior per brood may take barbed stranglers or venom cannons."
I remember arguing against this once before. It took me quite some time, but I found the thread that Drake and I fought over this exact issue. I don't blame you for not finding it in a Search (You did search first, right?), as it wasn't exactly easy to find the thread....
Click Me (Rules question.)
Anyways, it boils down to how you interpret the word "a".
I already posted this in another thread:
The German codex states the synchronised rule with MCs, but beforehand states that creatures with two, may only fire one, and later gives the exeption for MCs.
To me this means that no matter what you do, you can't get a synchronised ranged weapon on a Tyranid non-MC creature (so basically warriors).
I believe it says in the basic rulebook or somewhere that a twin-linked weapon is considered a single weapon - hence, you can fire twin-linked weapons on Tyranid Warriors.
Okay, THIS is funny. Click the link that Caluin posted, and read through the posts.
Loestal has already expressed an opinion on this exact topic. When I wanted to do it, it was "obvious" (quote) that it was illegal.
I see your point about counting a twin-linked weapon as a single one.
But my codex (the German one) states the 'two of the same kind become twin-linked' not with 'a creature' or somesuch, but explicitly with MCs and nothing else. So therefore you won't be able to get a TL weapon, which would only count as one weapon, on a warrior.
At least with that wording.
I believe there's a Sisters of Battle unit that uses dual pistols, counting them as twin-linked. As such, there's a precedent for a non-monstrous unit firing two weapons as a single twin-linked weapon.Originally Posted by Ladon
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
The seraphim hold dual pistol weapons that are twin linked.Originally Posted by Ostsol
However, the Warriors' weapons are 2H, BUT they do have 4 arms. And it doesn't say that you can't have 2 VC, only that 1 model can have a VC or Barb.
The Codex does NOT say you can't have 2, just that only 1 warrior can have a Barb Strangler or VC.
But the Codex says that only monsterous creatures can fire more than 1 weapon.
So here are the legal things can put on a Warrior:
- VC + VC (will be twin-linked)
- Barb + Barb (twin-linked)
- VC + something not Barb
- Barb + something not VC
You CANNOT have:
- VC + Barb (because it says only 1 warrior may have either)