Veil Of Darkness - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Veil Of Darkness

    I know this is probably a really stupid question but is there something to look for on a model to see if it has a veil of darkness. Or do you just add the points on and say it has one


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Back in action! Lord Yossanrion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Canberra, ACT, Australia, reading "Make-Out Paradise."
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,833
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    206 (x6)

    My Necron opponent says the cloak on his Necron Lord is the veil.

    But I personally wouldn't have an problem with no representation, so long as I knew he had it.

    Hope it helps.
    Anzac Clan!
    Final Fantasy!

  4. #3
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by gorion2k5
    I know this is probably a really stupid question but is there something to look for on a model to see if it has a veil of darkness. Or do you just add the points on and say it has one
    It would be perfectly fine for you to just say that he has it, and that's all.

    It's basically considered to be a power; you don't model a Librarian's powers on him, etc., do you?

    It's perfectly legal to just say it has the Veil of Darkness.

  5. #4
    Monkey of Mystery The Paint Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    743 (x8)

    You could paint the lords cloak with a starfield or a spooky glowing green or some similar but I don't think there is a particular type of model required, no. Except, maybe, if you gave a VoD to a destroyer lord, who doesn't wear a cloak at all. But then, that would be a silly thing to do anyway.
    No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    thanks its a destroyer lord does that have anything to do with it?

  7. #6
    Monkey of Mystery The Paint Monkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Age
    40
    Posts
    2,789
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    743 (x8)

    There's no rule against giving a destroyer lord a Veil but it's not particularly handy. You're paying for 2 types of rapid movement- the D-body and the Veil- if you're using one you're not using the other, so a bit of a waste of points. The other problem is that the Destroyer Lord doesn't have a veil of any kind modeled on him- teleporting or otherwise- and this might irk some players.
    Was there a particular reason that you wanted the D-Lord to have a VoD?
    No more NG spearmen, thanks! Now I need some pump-wagons!

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    no there wasnt i was just wondering cos i have been confused about whether to say that a model has wargear on do u have to have something on the model this was really just an example

  9. #8
    LO's Shadow Captain Lost Nemesis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Virginia, USA
    Age
    27
    Posts
    12,783
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    830 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by gorion2k5
    no there wasnt i was just wondering cos i have been confused about whether to say that a model has wargear on do u have to have something on the model this was really just an example
    Typically, yes.

    The rule is called WYSIWYG - what you see is what you get. In most cases, you have to model what you give the unit onto them.

    In the case of something that can't be modelled, though, how do you intend to model it? It's a power, of sorts, so it doesn't have to be modelled. Nobody expects a person to model psychic powers on Librarians, or for instance, Mind War on a Farseer... you can't model that, truly.

  10. #9
    Too Sexy For My Whirlwind Sabe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Edmonton,AB
    Age
    30
    Posts
    1,148
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    68 (x3)

    The desription for VoD is wrapping the lord and a unit in a shroud of darkness...and it can be hard to model a shroud of darkness (in all its many forms). Basically just listen to Nemesis here, its a power, doesn't need to be modelled.
    Peace
    Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts