Welcome to Librarium Online!
this might sound like a stupid question but what happens if you join a shas'el or 'o to a stealth team?
This is actually quite a good question.Originally Posted by maniac9230
When an independent character joins a unit the unit will lose certain special rules so the Stealths would first lose the infiltrate ability.
Now the thing that concerns me is how would the spotting rule apply, would the Stealth unit be compromised by the non spotting rule equiped Shas'O or would the reverse apply would the Shas be covered by the spotting rules.
It does says in the rule book that special rules from the unit the IC joined are not passed to the IC but seeing as he is part of the unit would that not mean if he is seen than the Stealth unit would by default be spotted as well.
Good question dude.
that's exactly what i was thinking, i'm surprised it hasn't come up sooner.
I beleive the stealth ability is specifically one that is not tranfered, might say so in the codex. ANyway, it voids the stealth units stealth completely......not owrth it.
If he joins XV15's they lose the stealth spotting rule.
2000pts Orks 4-2-1
In the codex it states that a stealth suit works by creating a holographic disruption field around the troops. it also says that drones added to the unit gain this ability.
it is a toughie but i wouls say the shas would benefit from the holo field, because he is a part of the unit technically as are the drones.
If worse comes to worse just tell the people playing you that if there is a stealth suit in front of the shas the he will benefit from the cover. if not then he and the whole unit can be shot and the enemy wont have 2 roll for spotting.
well, if we look at it this way:
The shas' join the unit, but doesn't have a stealth generator, so he can be shot at with normal rules, but the stealths might not be detected, but can still be hit by missed shots, and that way die, therefore they count as they've lost their stealth ability
then i read that he might be covered by the aquads holo projectors, but i would guess that it doesn't carry over to the shas, as his suit isn't built like the stealthsuits are.
oh yeah, if you've seen "die another day" (Bond movie) remember his Car in that movie? i've always figured the stealthsuits worked the same way, but i might be way off...
Quite good point there, but I don't think that it would work simply because I see the Shas as being too big to fit into the holographic field, drones are smaller than the stealths but the Shas isn't. In matter of fact he is nearly twice as big as the stealths and four times as big as the drones.Originally Posted by bobotheguy
I'll simply say that the Shas looses his IC status (as normal) and the stealths looses their stealth rules and their infiltrate rule
everyone has good points and i'm beggining to think that the stealths lose their stealth.
I think that the stealth suits keep their stealth, but the shas doesn't have any stealth. Therefore I think if the squad is shot at, if they don't spot the squad, but are in line of sight and are in range of the squads models, then the shots all go onto the shas. Because since even though they failed the test, they still have a legal target in the squad that will be forced to get hit by all the shots because the shas is the only one visable.
You also couldn't distribute wounds because the stealth suits aren't legal targets.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey