Welcome to Librarium Online!
Ever since I began building an armylist I've wondered, can I play a devilfish without buying it for a specific unit? and if I can, will it count as a troops choice, or something else? and even IF I can buy it, can I put 2 6man FW squads in it? or just 1?
hope you can awnser these (perhaps noobish) questions.
No. Rules for DF's and transports in general clearly state that they must be purchased for a certain unit and only that unit my use them. So....
1. You can't just buy a transport and put it on the board with no troops (What part of the force organization would it count for?)
2. If you have a transport for a unit you cannot transport another unit in the transport even if its original squad has died.
3. You can only transport one squad in a transport, no matter what space compacity the transport is.
The only honorable options left to we combatants is seppuku or semantics...which amount to the same thing really.
Then I was correct from the beginning, but some of my friends are a king in confusing me. they said:
1. the DF is listed under troops, so it would count as a troop choice.
2. they said you could fill up the empty space, but ONLY if you didn't but it for a specific unit.
and they wouldn't belive I was right. sure, it does sound logical, but rules say it diffirent. thanks for confirming.
You mean I cant use a devilfish I purchas for a unit of pathfinders to tranport a unit of firewarriors instead?! Ballz!
EDIT: AUGH! Your right! Are we sure the devilfish is a dedicated troop transport and not an ad hoc transport? Im sure it is since you must purchase it along with the pathfinders. Grrrrr....
Last edited by StevenSane; January 10th, 2006 at 14:15.
The only vehicles that can do this are Eldar Falcon Grav Tanks and space marine land raiders, as they are bought as Heavy Support selections that happen to have a passenger function, and not purchased as a specific transport for a unit.Originally Posted by StevenSane
Also, the only way you can put two units into one transport is to have an independant character join the unit that the vehicle is transporting. Also, you have to have enough space in the transport to do this.
So a Devilfish could theoretically transport a unit of seven Firewarriors with two attached Gun Drones who are joined by an Ethereal with two attached Gun Drones (totalling 12 models).
exactly right, but also note that the IC may leave the transport before the squad, but if the squad gets out, the IC must also.Originally Posted by MobiusPrime
So you can join the ethereal to the squad, and hop him out after the first move, then drop the squad after the second turn.
edit to transports- note that any non dedicated transport can use this, which at this time is limited to the falcon and LR, but I believe there may be some IG tanks that may operate in a similar fashion.
16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
1,500+ of Legion (just started)
You have to take it along with your FW sqauds counting as one troop choice. You dont have to us it as a transport though. Being a mech Tau player I always use them for all sorts of things. You cant have two units in one. An HQ can join a group that has a DF and then board with them as long as that doesnt put the limit over 12 models. Sorry if this was mentioned I didnt read the other post. Just trying to help out.
Member of the United States Army (45B)