Sweeping advance - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Archite of Caerbannog KwiKwag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    SJ Bay Area
    Posts
    1,582
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    225 (x6)

    Sweeping advance

    Boy am I full of questions today or what?

    Okay, 3 separate units charge into cc and cause the 1 enemy unit to freak and bail (fall back).

    Do all 3 units check their initiative to see if they can do so? Or do I pick one?

    Sorry for the questions.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Born from Tears of Angels WraithGuardian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    AUC School of Medicine
    Age
    28
    Posts
    1,768
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    105 (x5)

    I am pretty sure that all 3 since all 3 are in combat, they are all treated seperately, if one fails, the other gets a shot

  4. #3
    Member bubbathebrute's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    I think all units that are still in btb with the fleeing unit get an initiative check...I think.

  5. #4
    Member Dark Noob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Okinawa, JP
    Age
    34
    Posts
    82
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Do IC (such as a archon) get an iniative check of their own if they assualted with lets say a unit of warriors? i.e. do the warriors roll their initiative and then the archon gets to try?
    --------------------------
    W/L/D
    Dark Eldar: 1/1/1
    1st game Dark Eldar Vrs. Blood Angels. Result = Draw
    2nd game DE Vrs. BA Result = DE victory
    3rd game DE Vrs. BA Result = DE loss

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Alexandria, Virginia
    Posts
    400
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    If the Warriors are the Retinue, no. Roll just for the Archon's LD. If the Archon used as an IC roll for each.
    Looking for a compliment here is like looking for a girlfriend in a cemetary. You know you probably won't like what you dig up, but you'll take it anyway.


  7. #6
    Archite of Caerbannog KwiKwag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    SJ Bay Area
    Posts
    1,582
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    225 (x6)

    The reason asked was to determine if having 3 different initiative checks was better than have one.

    The situation I was thinking of was that of an Archon, Haemy and Succubus all in a biker squad. It would be better to have them all assault separated rather than one large group. That way I have 3 different chances of sweeping my foe in case one fails.

    Just running scenarios in my head.

  8. #7
    Karrot Dialysis karantalsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeston
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,321
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x4)

    Just declare the two IC's seperate from the bike squad before charging and you get your three checks AND you get to make LD checks seperate if you fail, always nice.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Age
    39
    Posts
    3
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x0)

    Just to clearify a bit, you may only join or seperate ICs from a unit during the movement phase, and some people take the 2" rule very seriously, so sometimes its helpfull to make sure they are atleast 2" away from any other unit. Only then you can assault the unit and the IC as 2 seperate units assaulting. Unless of course he has a retinue, then he is part of that unit, and you always use the lowest initiative when determing sweeping advance (you only move as fast as your slowest model rule).

  10. #9
    Archite of Caerbannog KwiKwag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    SJ Bay Area
    Posts
    1,582
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    225 (x6)

    Ah, good point and well taken. Thanks all!!!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts