Particle Whip - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Particle Whip

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    29
    Posts
    21
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Particle Whip

    According to the rules for ordance you cant use them to snipe out characters...however the necron codex says that the model under the hole takes an ap1 hit...does it just mean that one model under the template takes the ap1 hit or the model that is under the hole thus enabling you to snipe characters


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    I suck... Maiden neck... cebwj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark (DK)
    Age
    27
    Posts
    836
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    as the rules point out, any such hit is taken by the unit aka. the controling (of the hit models) decides whom is hit...
    -lurking in the shadows of LO.

    Officially diagnosed by Tekore
    Melkhior, Necrarch Lord

  4. #3
    Member Moriar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    81
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    the model that is under the hole takes an AP 1 hit and therefore if the save is failed that model must die. So yes you can snipe characters out.

  5. #4
    I suck... Maiden neck... cebwj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Denmark (DK)
    Age
    27
    Posts
    836
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x2)

    I have looked it up now:
    "The owning player can choose to remove any models form the unit, providing they are within line of fire and range of the attacker's weaponry. He can even remove models in the back of the unit if he wishes"

    Maybe we should get a ref in here... a mod or somting like that...
    -lurking in the shadows of LO.

    Officially diagnosed by Tekore
    Melkhior, Necrarch Lord

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Well, I think that it's something of a loop-hole, but not an unprecedented one. There are certain other abilities that allow one to target specific models, such as the Farseer Power Mind War.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    No, they want it that way. Check the FAQ's. So yes, models under the center hole get hit automatically by a ap1 hit. (helpful for killing vehicles, and almost as powerful as a tau railgun)

    This may seem unfair, but remember that it is ordnance with relatively short range and it can scatter. The best use of the particle whip in any situation is on space marines, especially a death company. (they just kill necrons by the squad)

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nashville,TN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Yes, according to the FAQ and I quote: "Any model directly under the center of the large blast template of the particale whip takes an ap1 hit. The new rules for blast weapons state that the defending player may remove casualties from the unit as a whole, not necessarily those under the template, and this rule remains in effect with the exception of the model directly beneath the hole of the template."

    So yes this is the only instance of ordinance being able to take out enemy independent characters.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Age
    25
    Posts
    622
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -9 (x0)

    Because it is the direct point, if you aim it at that one person, there is a 5 in 6 chance that it will hit. So it's rubbish at sniping.

    The problem which caused that rule to be written was that if you got an ordnance, and aimed it at character, then it could scatter about 5 inches and still hit him. Hence you have, in most cases, a high strength, low AP thing which, essentially, hits on 2s.

    However, because it is the point, you are unlikely to hit whatever it is that you are aiming at, and so there would be no reason for them to re-write this bit of the rule.
    *In My Mind*

    (\_/)
    (0.0)
    (><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Tunisia
    Because it is the direct point, if you aim it at that one person, there is a 5 in 6 chance that it will hit. So it's rubbish at sniping.
    5 in 6 chance? There is a 1 in 3 chance the blast will drop in target. If it doesn't, any scatter of 3 or more will cause it to scatter off the infantry target. The large blast marker is only 5" wide so if it scatters more than 2.5" + 0.5" for the model's base it will miss the target model completely. Sniping does play an important part in that you have a 1 in 3 chance of dropping an AP1 hit on the target. With a STR of 9 the vast majority of models will be killed outright.

    Quote Originally Posted by Tunisia
    The problem which caused that rule to be written was that if you got an ordnance, and aimed it at character, then it could scatter about 5 inches and still hit him. Hence you have, in most cases, a high strength, low AP thing which, essentially, hits on 2s.
    However, because it is the point, you are unlikely to hit whatever it is that you are aiming at, and so there would be no reason for them to re-write this bit of the rule.
    Any scatter roll of more than 3 will cause the blast template to miss its intended target. Also, ordnance fired from a moving vehicle is much more likely to scatter more than 3" thus missing the sniped character. Now I'm not saying that it isn't still hugely powerful, just that it's not that good at sniping specific models. I feel the sniping ability is an added bonus but definitely not my main reason for firing the particle whip instead of the gauss flux arc.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

  11. #10
    LO Zealot Chaosbrynn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Quebec
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,810
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    71 (x4)

    Yes, the center whole of the monoliths blast template CAN be used to snipe out characters, sergeants and heavy or special weapon cariers. It is the only ordnance that works in this way.
    Mentor of Space Marine Commanders far and wide.

    Efficiency VS Point Cost VS Ease Of Use - Your best bets:

    1) Chaplain led Assault squad - 2 plasma pistols, powerfisted sergeant

    2) 8 man Devastator squad - 4 missile launchers

    3) Land Speeder Tornado - HB + AC

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts