Welcome to Librarium Online!
I've noticed in a lot of army lists, people list an archon or drachon joined to a warrior squad w/ a sybarite. I've looked at the codex and the IC rules and haven't been able to figure out how they're doing it, especially because most of the time its only nine warriors (including the sybarite). This means they cannot be taking the warrior troop choice, because they don't meet the ten warrior minimum requirement, and it does not appear that you can take a warrior retinue that can upgrade to a sybarite.
So, am i missing something. Is there some way to take 9 warriors, add in an archon or drachon predeployment, and still have a sybarite? Or are these lists I've been looking at just flawed. Or is it that you have to take a raider squad and then join the Archon / Drachon into them inside the raider on turn one (if this is the case, can he embark/join the squad all at once?)
Last edited by Slathe; February 3rd, 2006 at 02:45.
You cant take 11 models in a raider, so the people that you were watching were either cheating or not knowing the rules.
A warrior squad can have up to 20 models including sybarite
Sybarite counts as a warrior, so yes a 9 man warrior and sybarite choice is legal.
If on raider, only 10 models can be taken.
HQ retinue doesnt have the sybarite option since the lord is considered the squad leader.
You can put IC in a squad but there are some special rules you gota follow like not moving more then a certain distance away from the squad or he can be shot at. I cant remember for sure but its something of that sort
OK I think Wrait guardian may have misunderstood what you said originally.
A 9 man squad including sybarite as a raider squad is legal, in order to add you rlord to it you deploy in the following sequence.
Deploy raider squad as one fo your troop choices
When deployoing your lord declare that you are deployin ghim into the transport (taking up the extra, tenth, space and joining the squad.
This is almost certainly what you've seen and if the notation was something like this
9 Warriors (The archon will join this squad)
I know it can be a tad confusing, but as the sybarite is an upgrade many people (including myself) list it as such, this is obvious from the price of the unit usually, the above unit would cost 168 points as opposed to the 176 if it was a full ten man squad with the same upgrades.
Right Karantalis, thats more of what I was asking. I understood what the sybarite was, and what the squad was (a nine man warrior squad, one of which is a sybarite), I just didn't know you could deploy the lord into the raider (I had asked a friend about that last week and he said you could not), so thats where I was getting confused. Thanks for the response
Edit: Just looked it up in the rulebook (finally found the deployment rules) and now its all clear how and why its allowed (like you said, take nine man raider squad, upgrade one to syb, and then just start w/ the IC joined to them). So many rules to learn.
Last edited by Slathe; February 3rd, 2006 at 05:42.
Correct. Its a common mistake. It's very easy to overlook the fact that there are two separate troop selection for DE warriors (the warrior squad, and the raider squad). They're both very similar, but with a few subtle differences (unit count, number of heavy/special weapons, etc.)
My 40K Armies:
- Thousand Sons
- Mordian Imperial Guard
- Dark Eldar
My Fantasy Armies:
- Lhamian Vampire Counts
Here's a follow up i couldn't find an answer to, can more then one IC join a unit?
So, for instance, could you take an archon as one hq choice, 3 haemonc as a second (all IC), take a six man raider squad, and deploy all ten units into that raider joined together? The only limitation on that plan i could see would be if you couldnt' have more then one IC in a squad, but it doesn't say anything in the characters section of the rulebook about how many can/cannot join, maybe it does somewhere else?
There is no maximum number of ICs that can have joined a squad.
It will however be unwise of you to have more than one IC joining the squad at a time, as the IC + sybarite is more than enough to destroy anything in CC, exept maybe from the toughest of demons or the like, which you need to soften up with a little firepower first. An interesting variant would be 7grots and 3 heamies on the same raider, as the squad would be quite good against anything tough with poor saves, and maybe even a good demon killer squad.
I did understnd the question, I said the same thing. I just didnt remember the IC rules.
I was actually thinking, if I didn't want to take the grotesques, of just having the haemoncs in there at deployment to catch a ride w/ the raider, and once the unit disembarks having them go off on their own. Not sure if i'd do it, because if the raider gets shot down thats a lot of points just gone, but its nice to have the option.Originally Posted by Farseer Sareld
Has anyone had any experience with grotesques and how they play, i'm not terribly impressed w/ them from just looking at their stats