Synapse Power - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Synapse Power

  1. #1
    Senior Member Commissar_Malevich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Olathe,KS
    Age
    27
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Synapse Power

    I dont think I quite found it but I know that Synapse Creatures are immune to
    instant death, but what then? If the creature has an invulnerable save does it
    use that or the normal one? If it doesnt have a inv. save then just that save?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Weapons that cause Instant Death do not necessarily disallow saves. If the weapon's AP or some other property about it (such as Power Weapons) defeats the save, then only invulnerable saves are allowed.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  4. #3
    señor brushman! brushman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    b-town
    Posts
    1,434
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    77 (x3)

    If the creature has an invulnerable save does it
    use that or the normal one? If it doesnt have a inv. save then just that save?
    You pick what save you want to take although you can't take a normal save if the AP of the weapon is equal to or lower then the units save.

    If it doesn't have a inv. save, then you take your normal save unless it is negated by things like power weapons, power fists, AP is equal to or lower then your save, etc.

    I hope that was clear,
    Ben

    Edit: Darn you beat me to it Ostsol :tongue:

  5. #4
    Senior Member Commissar_Malevich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Olathe,KS
    Age
    27
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    Still seem fuzzy. What im saying is if a weapon that causes instant death (define that fully please) to a synapse creature without an invulnerable save, does it get to use its save or what.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    As said earlier instant death ONLY comes into effect AFTER you have failed your save, normal or invulnerable. Here's the order of when things happen:


    1. You get shot and wounded
    2. If the weapon's AP is worse than your armor save, take your armor save
    3. If you only have an invulnerable save or the weapon's AP is better than your armor save, take your invulnerable save.
    4. If you failed your save (armor or invulnerable) AND the weapon's STR is at least TWICE your TOUGHNESS you are dead no matter how many wounds you have.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    382
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Commissar_Malevich
    Still seem fuzzy. What im saying is if a weapon that causes instant death (define that fully please) to a synapse creature without an invulnerable save, does it get to use its save or what.
    Ok...here we go
    A T** ____ (Str-10 AP-1) Blasts my Warrior. He usually would not have to roll anything because the Warriors toughness is 4 and armor is 5. Even if the gun was a Str-8 AP-5 he would still not have to roll to wound because the str of the weapon is DOUBLE the toughness of the victim. That is how instant kill works.

    Well that T** ___ (Str-10 AP-1) still needs to roll to wound my Warrior because he is infact under synapse. I won't get a armor save for this because of the AP-1. But if I had an inv. save I could take that to avoid Instant kills. The advantage to being immune to instant kills vs. such high powered weapons is slight...but he could roll a 1 to wound when all he needs to roll is a 2.

    The str. vs. toughness for instant kills does not effect saves. You still go by AP vs. Armor saves for it.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Commissar_Malevich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Olathe,KS
    Age
    27
    Posts
    277
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    K thanks I got it. The first post you gave I read with a different way than you must have meant it and the next was clear as a whistle.

  9. #8
    Now with STFU flames! Caluin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    5,917
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    708 (x8)

    Loestal - you last post confuses me a little bit. You use the word "Wound" in couple of different contexes.

    Do you mean to say that if that Str 10, AP 1 weapon were to hit a toughness 4 model (Non-synapse), the gun owner would not have to roll to wound? Or did you mean to say that after the gun owner hit the model, he'd still need to roll to wound (which will always be on a 2+) and then you check for instant death?

    The reason I ask is because how I'm reading your post, you seem to be a bit confused on how the Instant Kill works. For instance, should a Lascannon hit a Space Marine Commander, if that Lascannon doesn't roll a 2+ on the "To Wound" check then the Commander will live.


  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    36
    Posts
    10
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    [QUOTE=Loestal]Ok...here we go
    A T** ____ (Str-10 AP-1) Blasts my Warrior. He usually would not have to roll anything because the Warriors toughness is 4 and armor is 5. Even if the gun was a Str-8 AP-5 he would still not have to roll to wound because the str of the weapon is DOUBLE the toughness of the victim. That is how instant kill works.

    QUOTE]


    -- not quite

    instant kill takes all the wounds a creature has at once, but the attacker will still always have to roll to wound and on a 1 nothing happens. Even a guardsman could survive a lascannon shot in theory.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts