Powerfists DO COUNT against the Monolith - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33
  1. #1
    Senior Member ^Heavy Support^'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Age
    32
    Posts
    283
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Powerfists DO COUNT against the Monolith

    I find it interesting that everyone came the the conclusion that powerfists and powerclaws did not count, yet in a white dwarf battle report a dreadnought killed a monolith with a powerclaw- str.6(10).

    Also, in the 40k FAQ it only says quote "don't count any bonus PENETRATION"- nowhere in the 40k FAQ or in the Necron codex does it say ANYTHING about not counting strength bonuses. Strength bonuses and penetration bonuses are entirely different.

    The exception for the Vindicare assassin is because it is a turbo PENETRATOR round, and it is a PENETRATION bonus.

    Yes, a powerfist CAN damage a monolith, but it needs a 6 to hit and a 6 to glance. To illustrate my point, a chainfist could still damage a monolith on a 6 because it does get its STRENGTH bonus, but it would not get its PENETRATION bonus of 2d6. They are completely different things.

    Nice try.

    Last edited by ^Heavy Support^; February 9th, 2006 at 20:13.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,425
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    252 (x0)

    Hmm... This is gonna turn into a seriously fiery dispute... lol.

    Well, I agree with you 100%. It makes total sense. I just know we're going to have to defend our positions before long... lol.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Regarding the issue, I don't pay much attention and have little to say about it. However, regarding the White Dwarf. . . well, do not take it as an authority on the rules. Battle reports in WD issues have been known to occasionally be rather inaccurate portreyals of the rules.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  5. #4
    Senior Member Obsidian's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Um...that's a good question. Where am i??
    Age
    24
    Posts
    248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    12 (x1)

    yes i do agree with you.

    Quick! Lock the doors, get the marines ready! Everyone check your bolters!

    But that is a logical arguement, i don't know actual rule so i can't say for sure, but if that is true, then that would be correct
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Okay, here we go. . .

    What about the following quote from the FAQ:

    When attacking a Monolith, extra penetration dice and doubling scores are much the same thing
    The effects of a Powerfist is "doubling scores", so it seems that the FAQ does cover that as ineffective against the Monolith.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  7. #6
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,425
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    252 (x0)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ostsol
    Okay, here we go. . .

    What about the following quote from the FAQ:



    The effects of a Powerfist is "doubling scores", so it seems that the FAQ does cover that as ineffective against the Monolith.
    I believe the FAQ is refering to weapons which double the result of the penetration roll. A models modified strength is not a result.

    Weapons such as Ork Tankbusta Bombs would do this, I believe.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Daedelus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Kamloops, BC
    Age
    33
    Posts
    301
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x1)

    Would the comment about doubling scores be refering to the tankbusta bombs? The FAQ states to ignore any extra PENETRATION. Although strength factors into penetration, they are not the same thing, and as such should still be usable against the monolith.
    Quote Originally Posted by Andusciassus
    there is a difference in a well educated kick and an amateur one.

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    I suppose so, if that's what it's referring to.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  10. #9
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,425
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    252 (x0)

    Penetration is when you roll in an attempt to equal or beat the armor. This is why Melta Bombs, Melta Guns, Monstrous Creatures and so on so forth don't get a bonus. Also, Tank Hunters does not work, because it modifies the penetration roll. If the logic of powerfists not working against Monoliths is correct, that would also mean that things like Daemonic Strength, Dark Blades, Furious Charge and other STRENGTH modifying weapons and abilities would do nothing as well. Somehow, that seems very, very wrong to me.

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    Why do people insist on opening new threads on subjects that have discussed to death?! The bottom line is this is another rule that is completely open to interpretation. We can argue both sides until we're red in the face and we won't solve a damn thing. Until GW releases a FAQ or rules update that clears this up it is all how you interpret it.

    If you want to know people's opinions then read the previous posts. If you can't find them try searching for "monolith" and you'll find it. I doubt highly that any of us could offer an opinion that has not been offered before. The funny thing is even if you do it won't matter one bit unless GW publishes it.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

Closed Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts