Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi, i was just wondering what upgrades people do for their lord(s) because thiers a 100pts limit.
gaze of flame
Please post what you do so i can see if i should change.
I've heard the Orb, and VoD are the most common and effective choice.
yeh, thats what ive heard but everyone takes that, it gets boring.
I kit my lord out to the max.
Lord- res. orb, phase shifter, warscythe, phlacetry. (and a gaze of flame if I have the points spare).
He is there to charge enemy HQ's so the warriors live and to take out tanks and dreadnaughts that get to close.
He is expensive, he costs at least 200 points!
I normally have two lords
lord: VoD- 160 pts
lord: destroyer body, warscythe, res orb, phase shifter (or lightning field)- 210 points(or 205)
first lord stays with immortals
Dlord goes with wraith wing. (or scarabs if he is in my "take all commers" list)
I like The_Outsider's lord if im trying to do something different this time around.
except, sometimes i dont go with the warscythe, because the staff of light is an incredible weapon.
other than that, yea i run the standard (orb and VoD) and/or the CC monster (the one The_Outsider suggested).
the CC one can get really nasty in CC. First of all, T6, no insta kill. Need 6's to hit in CC. invulnerable save in addition to armor save and WBB. REs. orb means always get a WBB. 50/50 chance it will come back, 1/3 chance of it having more than 1 wound when it comes back. And if youre really lucky, and a monolith is around, you can re-roll that WBB.
I played a game the other day where we could take 1 HQ choice (dont ask, we were trying out new ideas) and it was 3v1.
no wargear limit on the HQs (youll see how it balances out later)
Total points of the 3 people on the same team = the amount of points the lone player gets to spend on his list.
basically team assassins. Assassins can join and leave groups with eachother at any time.
and lets just say that my lord with : res orb, VoD, Phylactery, D body, phase shifter was the star. so much so that we had to play again with me using the nightbringer lol.
because i just teleported all of the assassins next to the enemy HQ.
Daemons shall crumble before my might!
You know you can only teleport Necrons, and that hitting on 6's only applies to vehicles.Originally Posted by Grand Master Halls
This lord you mention is not the one Outsider mentioned, and the one you describe there has more than 100 points of wargear(res orb,D.body,phylactery,phase shifter=115 pts). Not to mention that you hit based on his WS, you need to be a vehicle to claim the "Skimmer" rules.the CC one can get really nasty in CC. First of all, T6, no insta kill. Need 6's to hit in CC. invulnerable save in addition to armor save and WBB. REs. orb means always get a WBB. 50/50 chance it will come back, 1/3 chance of it having more than 1 wound when it comes back. And if youre really lucky, and a monolith is around, you can re-roll that WBB.
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
I skimp on my lord(s).
The thing is, they aren't particularly good characters on their own. They are best used as support, for which they are one of the best in the game, but as a unit on their own, in comparison to other HQs, they aren't that great.
However, I do maintain that, in fact, the necron lord costs 140 points. And that he automatically has the effects of a res orb.
beyond that, if i have spare points I give my 'troop' lord a GofF, and my 'immortal' lord a VoD for circusing. Any spare points go onto a chronometron for the troop lord (read the errata- sweeping advance has changed since the codex)
*In My Mind*
(><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!
haha wow. my fault, i thought that you needed 6's to hit on all skimmers? w/e. We werent exactly following some "minor" rules lol. AKA the HQ's got to take their Armor saves, AND thier invulnerable saves, as we were going for that "epic" feel. You know in movies how the Generals never seem to die? yea that kind of thing. Anyways, im just saying, that the Lord can be quite good in CC if tooled up for that role.
Daemons shall crumble before my might!