Welcome to Librarium Online!
I need your help finding a rule that a necron player used on me. So far, since I have never played necrons before, I have been able to validate some of the other rules he used but not this one.
I tried to target his Necron Lord (which was placed in front of his troops) with some ranged fire. He said that I could not because his lord was within 6" of his troops and there was a special rule that the Lord could not be targeted. His lord was placed a few inches (more than 2") in front of the troops plain as day - it was in fact the closest enemy model to me.
Did I mis interpret this rule or was it just that his lord was part of the troop and I couldn't target him?
I do believe him since all the other rules panned out but I have the codex in my hand and if someone could give me the page number I can close this book of a very nasty defeat.
A necron lord is an independant character and follows the rules as such. He gets no other special treatment that normal IC's don't get.
He is using rules from 3rd edition. What he said is true before the most recent revision. Now ICs are only afforded that protection if they are not the closest unit. Since the lord was the closest unit to your squad and was not joined to another squad you should have been allowed to target him.Originally Posted by KwiKwag
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
"Characters that are not part of a unit may only be chosen as targets if they are the closest target to the firer" BGB, p.
So, in that case, you could have shot him. If there was another unit closer, you could not.
It's not Lord specific- It's all Independent Characters. So you can pull the same rule on him with your ICs.
*In My Mind*
(><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!
ok new 4th ed rule states that if shooting from a further enemy unit than the closest is possible but you'll have to take a leadership test for it..pass and you may shoot at that unit if you fail you may only shoot at the closest unit. And yes the lord is a IC.