Guide psychic power question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
  1. #1
    Member Tripl3Stormsoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Guide psychic power question

    Can a Farseer cast Guide on a vehicle? I would assume not, since the spell's description says it can be cast on a friendly unit, not unit or vehicle. The power has the same wording as Fortune, which obviously would have no effect on a vehicle, and thus does not include them. (Clarification: since neither mention vehicles, they have the same basic rules, and one would have no effect on vehicles, I would assume that Guide cannot be cast on vehicles)

    What do you all say about it, esteemed Eldar players? Am I right, or has this been discussed?

    "The death of one man is a tragedy; the death of a million is a statistic."
    ~Iosif Vissarionovich Dzhugashvili Stalin

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Tyrael-RM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,082
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    32 (x3)

    Yes it is perfectly legal, i believe...

    I use it all the time on my falcon, and turn it into a very killing beast.

  4. #3
    Favored of Tzeentch Viktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sigtuna, Sweden
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    129 (x8)

    It is legal, "unit" refers to any choice on the Force organisation chart. Vehicles are not affected by fortune because they don't have a save anyway. So go on with that.

    If it meant otherwise, it would say "infantry squad".
    Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
    Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks

  5. #4
    Member Tripl3Stormsoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Okay, thanks. For some reason I thought the rulebook made a distinction between Unit and Vehicle, but I'm willing to go with what you guys say. I can see the Farseer casting the power on the vehicle crew, but I don't have to give the opponent that advantage if its not in the rules .

    Thanks for clearing that up
    "The death of one man is a tragedy; the death of a million is a statistic."
    ~Iosif Vissarionovich Dzhugashvili Stalin

  6. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    173
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    on a related note, can a farseer cast guide on a vehicle if he is transported in the vehicle?

    and can he cast fortune on the squad he is travelling with if they are also in the same vehicle?

  7. #6
    Favored of Tzeentch Viktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sigtuna, Sweden
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    129 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by theriddles
    on a related note, can a farseer cast guide on a vehicle if he is transported in the vehicle?

    and can he cast fortune on the squad he is travelling with if they are also in the same vehicle?
    Yes he can.
    Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
    Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks

  8. #7
    The Demagogue Amishcellphone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Michigan, United States
    Age
    30
    Posts
    485
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    72 (x1)

    Viktor makes the sun shine and the grass grow, don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
    "War does not determine who is right - only who is left" Bertrand Russell

    We bring only death, and leave only carrion. It is a message even a Human can understand.

    W/D/L
    Eldar: 3-3-1

  9. #8
    Member Tripl3Stormsoul's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Age
    30
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    And Amishcellphone makes people scratch their heads in bewilderment while Falcon Grav Tanks fly into your base
    "The death of one man is a tragedy; the death of a million is a statistic."
    ~Iosif Vissarionovich Dzhugashvili Stalin

  10. #9
    Favored of Tzeentch Viktor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sigtuna, Sweden
    Age
    28
    Posts
    3,140
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    My Spotify

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    129 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Amishcellphone
    Viktor makes the sun shine and the grass grow, don't let anyone tell you otherwise.
    I just spend way too much time on LO. :sleep:
    Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
    Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks

  11. #10
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Viktor
    "unit" refers to any choice on the Force organisation chart.
    Well, not really. I think every army has at least one FOC choice that can consist of multiple units. A squad and their dedicated transport, for example, or an Imperial Guard platoon, or Tyranid Lictors, etc. . .
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts