Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
How does WITHOUT NUMBER work?
Codex Tyranids, p40 " ...Any brood Without Number that is removed from play may be brought back into play."
1. Does this refer to the entire brood. Bring 'em back individually, or has to be entire brood?
2. Does REMOVED mean taken off as a CASUALTY only? Or voluntarily remove it as suits?
3. If I can voluntarily remove a model (or is that entire brood?), WHEN? End of Assault?
There are two trains of thought in my end of town. Put models back on the table next turn piecemeal. Alternate view - wait until entire brood is removed and then put 'em back on as a complete horde.
4. Optional and when? The rules states, "... MAY be brought back into play." May? Can return to play be delayed until the start of some other turn. The answer is quite dependent on the answers to the above three questions.
First of, I'm quite sure they mean that you can replace a brood after it's been completely wiped from the table. So get them shot, and in the next turn a new brood enters. I've never heard of voluntarily killing units.
And the 'may' is there, saying you mustn't persay do it, because every brood that gets killed count for VP as being shot in the end, so if the enemy get's to shoot 10 gaunt broods, before you kill him of completely, he might still have won VP-wise
Thanks. But, what say I have a 32 Termagaunt brood, and 31 have been killed. Its miles away from anything else, so I can't quickly kill it. This is the situation where I would want to take it off the board. I figure that its in the spirit of the rules, and is game-balanced, because I still lose VP for it. Whaddya reckon?
Last edited by General War; March 8th, 2006 at 10:15.
If your enemy leaves one, you are **** out of luck, maybe you can try running over the table edge? If you actualy CAN do that. Killing the gaunt if he won't kill it off, and re-enter play.
I read another post about it and it got me thinking:
gaunts away from synapse will probably be bad to control, but while instinctive they will fall back towards the closest synapse, and if I'm not wrong they get 3d6 fall back because of fleet? or is that just for hormies? anyway, they can get there fast enough I guess. (or is it trowing 2-3 d6 and keeping the highest 1-2? not sure about that)
Yes, units can leave the table by moving to the edge (Leaving the Battle p49 rulebook). I'd still like to simply be able to remove a brood by choice just because I want to.
I'd like to do something crazy and actually field a 32 model brood with Without Number. But it would be even crazier if I couldn't get the full brood back on the table because a small remnant simply refused to get itself killed.
so it might be a lot smarter, and will cost exactly the same, to have that big brood split up in smaller broods, unless ofcourse all your troop-slots are filled. If not, split it up in as much smaller units as you can, so everytime a unit of 8 or so get's killed, u can bring em back... it will create a more constant flow, and keep pressure on the opponent, otherwise it will just start shooting anything else on the board (which he might just as well do anyway, I see quite a number of ppl just plain ignoring my guants no matter how big the broods and just shoot everything that's bigger. )
I agree. A huge brood is probably not a good idea. However, regardless of brood size, the question is still the same. I wonder if GDW will give me an official ruling on this. They do that don't they?
If the without number rule is like the sustand assult rule in the 40k rule book then I think you may be able to take them of if they reach below half strength.
Thanks. I will go and look up that rule (don't know sustained assault rules off by heart).
without number isn't 'like sustaind assault', it clearly states what it does in Codex Tyranids p. 40Originally Posted by AJ Tyrant
so don't bother looking it up, it'll only get you confused