Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hello all....I'm completely green to 40K. I am having my first match in a few hours (I expect to get spanked) and I've chosen Da Boys as my prefered race. I'd like to throw some questions out there and see if I can't get some answers.
I am pretty sure that the Ork Codex states that a units' weapons/wargear must be represented correctly on each miniature. I've seen quite a few images of painted miniatures (some from the Ork codex) wielding two Sluggas. Is this actually possible? I was under the assumption (from the Rulebook) that a unit may only fire a single pistol. Can anyone point me to any rule allowing the carrying and fireing of two pistols? The Ork general BS2 score makes this not as impressive sounding, but two (more shootier, more dakka) pistols!?
Some please tell me what the deal is!
Welcome to 40K, always good to see a new Ork player - they get far too little attention, IMHO.
Now keep in mind that I know nothing about Orks, but generally nothing can fire two pistols unless their codex entry (or a general special rule for the army) says so. Case in point: Witch Hunters Seraphim carry 2 Bolt Pistols and their entry says they're treated as Twin Linked.
I'm thinking the Orks don't have such a rule, so those examples were probably using another pistol to represent a close combat weapon (since pistols do count as extra CC weapons). Technically, one of them is treated pretty much as a knife or similar, but twin pistols just look cooler!
They don't count as twin pistols unless they are nobs, or other characters which can take wargear. This is sheerly because it is not possible, ruleswise, to take dual-wielding boyz. Model it how you like, but that boy's got a shoota and a choppa.
*In My Mind*
(><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!
I'm in the middle of my game now....a 2v2. My Ork boyz and a Smurf army fightin' Taranis and a Smurf. We are taking a short break. I haven't really been pulling my weight through the first two rounds, but I expect to get into CC duing my next turn, and then I'll wreck shop!
So it's not possible at all to wield two pistols (or Choppas for that matter) for a Boy or a Nob?
it is possible for those with acces to the armoury but still it has no use as only vehicles and monstrous creatures can fire more than 1 weapon.
Hello and welcome to librarium. Orkses is where its at!
As for the question at hand, having two pistols doesn't give you any advantage in the shooting phase, however it does count as having two close combat weapons, which in combat would grant you another attack. However, you are better off using a choppa and a slugga in that case as the choppa has some extra benefits as you are probably aware of.
"...a swarm of mechanised locusts sweeping over the land, stripping it bare of resources, bringing death and destruction to anything that stands in its path. Emperor preserve us against the predations of these so-called Orkish cults of speed!" - Cardinal Nomura at the Conclave of Hessen
Also remember the pictures from the codex are just that. Some people like to add a little variety to their units and army a figure with 2 pistols or pose a figure running. A figure can only shoot 1 weapon a turn (there are some exceptions, but this is pretty standard for basic infantry). It all really comes down to the weapon options for the squad and then a little converting if you want.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
We played a "Take and Hold" scenario...at least I think that's what it was called. As I expected, I became much more effective once I got into CC. I made lots of mistakes with my placement, and forgot a few imprtant things that would have made things better (Like using my Grots to traverse Difficult terrain ), but I learned alot. I expect to do much better next time. In my last turn, my Warboss and his Nob bodyguard tooks out an enemy Dreadnaught that was within scoring range. That, plus an Assault push from some Sluggas and Shootas gave me two scoring units within range (My partner had none) and none for the other team. But in the last turn of the game, the enemy Smurf made a successful Terminator Squad drop into the scoring area, and they managed to take down 4 of my Shootas....exactly enough to bring the total to 5 Shootas....which was half. So he scored with his terminator squad, and I scored with my Warbosses squad. Bummer...we almost had it.
Thanks for all of your help with my question. I imagined it wouldn't be possible...I just wanted to maje sure.