Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hi Im just wondering if someone can answer this question on shooting from Raiders. When a unit shoots from a Raider does it have to target the same unit as the raider itself? Im wondering because I got into a huge argument about this at my local gamesworkshop (As far as i was aware the unit could shoot a diffrent target but my opponent disagreed and the manager sided with him) and the rulebook was somewhat vague about it.
Ask not the ruleboys a question for they shall give you three answers each true and terrifying to behold
Unfortunetly I cannot find in the rulebook anything definative. So this is just my point of view.
I would think that yes they must fire at the one target. The raider is a transport and thus part of the unit. Whilst the squad is aboard it should fight as a unit.
In an hour of darkness a blind man is the best guide. In an age of insanity look to the madman to show the way.
If they were right and a unit and its transport would count as one unit (and not just one FOC choice), then that'd also mean that transports always have to remain in coherency and so on.
Back in 3rd edition there was a ruling in the rulebook clarifications about this:Nothing suggests that this intent of the designers has been changed in 4th edition.15. A transport vehicle need not fire at the same target as the unit it is attached to, even if the original unit is inside the vehicle.
The choice of words in the transport vehicle rules, which say that "the unit" is embarked in the vehicle, indicate that the vehcile itself is not part of the unit, it is merely assigned to it. Else it'd be embarked in itself.
Last edited by ArchonAstaroth; March 15th, 2006 at 11:46.
The transport and the unit are different units. Have a look under what counts as "scoring" units in the back of the book. The column on the left is named "unit type" You'll see dedicated transports there. They're not a "scoring" 'unit, but they're still a unit.Originally Posted by sanguinary lord
You don't get 1/2 points for the transport for reducing the squad to below 1/2 strength. Having the transport blown up has no effect on whether or not you've taken 25% casualties for required Ld checks. You don't have to maintain coherency between the transport and the squad. The only way dedicated transports and squads ever even mimic a single unit is when you deploy them at the same time. In fact, you don't even have to deploy them in the same place!
They're separate units, they don't have to shoot at the same thing, whether or not the unit is "inside" the dedicated transport.