How to use grotesques???? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

How to use grotesques????

Sorry for the simple question but being a DE newb I don't understand the use of the grotestques. Meaning, it seems that you can only use them when you get into close combat. Then could get chewed up even with the 2 wounds.

Do you use them as forward shields? Tactics?

thx for any understanding

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

LO Zealot
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

Right now they do have a remote use as shields for ICs who joined them (albeit torrent of fire dimishes this somewhat), and to make some enemies auto break for a sweeping advance.

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    86 (x4)

Quote Originally Posted by ArchonAstaroth
    Right now they do have a remote use as shields for ICs who joined them (albeit torrent of fire dimishes this somewhat), and to make some enemies auto break for a sweeping advance.
    This is very true.

They were much more effective in 3rd edition where you could actually screen your troops from enemy fire, while still being able to shoot past your own meatshield (it was assumed the soldiers in front would duck and cover when their allies fired from behind)
    A common tactic was to string out a squad of ten in front of several Splinter Squads (Warrior squads usually consisting of 2 Splinter Cannons, 2 Blasters and a Sybarite with an Agoniser), having the Grots lead by a Haemonculus.