Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I hate having to ask this question, considering how long I have played tyranids with rending included.
well I read back over the rending rules in the rule book, and they aren't very clear, does it mean that your hit doesn't need to test for strength, and then the same hit ignores armor saves? then why wouldn't they say "causes and automatic casualty"? or do they mean that it does a free casualty and then the regular hit ignores armor saves? I probably just play the way I always have until I get a response, but I'd like some clarification, the rule book definition has me running in circles!
It's worded that way because things like Invulnerable and Cover Saves exist. When you roll a 6 to hit, that hit causes and automatic wound and that wound allows no Armor Saves. So if you roll a 6 to hit say a Space Marine it will become a casualty unless he is getting some kind of Cover Save, but if you hit a SM Terminator it would still get the 5+ Invulnerable Save.
ahhhh, so I read it right, I just over-generalized the word armor save. thanks man (fortunately that's how I've always used them, imagine explaining that one to your buddys!)
Didn't you just ask this question like 2 days ago?
Anyway, it doesn't say free casaulty because some models get invulnerable saves, as mentioned, and also because it only does 1 wound... most characters and things like wraithlords / 1k-sons / oblits / etc have more than 1 wound.
I could have sworn I did, but I never got an answer, and then when I looked for my thread I couldn't find it. don't know what happened there.
Sometimes a moderator will decide to move a thread if he feels that it belongs somewhere else. When you want to see if someone's replied to you, hit the User CP link. If there are any new replies to a thread that you've participated in, it'll be listed in there. This way it won't matter if the thread has been moved. It'll still be just as easy to find.Originally Posted by tojo
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
For the record, I did happen to have moved it.
You can find it here (rending question). It was moved to Rules Help. Since we don't really need two threads on the subject, and the other one is in the appropriate spot, this one can be closed.