Welcome to Librarium Online!
Ok, I cant work out how target selection between the HT and the TG works.
so far I think I understand the shooting phase with this unit, but assult really has me confused.
The speacial rule Shield wall says this (A Hive Tyrant with Guard may not be picked out as a seperate target from its unit despite the fact it is a Monstrous Creature)
Is this shooting and assult.?
If so would this mean that the two (HT, TG) are one unit and act like a Space Marien Squad leader and squad, (the hidden power fist guy and his buddys ploy) or can the HT be picked out in assult like a IC but not in shooting.:wacko:
sorry if this thread was already discussed before I joind, but I realy need some support.
so any Help would be most welcome.
I think it applies to combat as well, as a hive tyrant is a monstrous creature, and that is nothing like an independant character. So yes, it is like a hidden powerfist, and that is really helpful. Also, the tyrant and guard make a single unit, and a mc cannot be picked out like IC's. Remember also that a tyrant cannot join any other squad, and so it makes sense if he can't be picked out in a combat as they are a retinue.
Sigh, heavy weight of my chest.
Thankyou very much for replying broken_spoons.
this helps so much with my HT's survival vs my friends Dark elder lord and other random powerfist.
If anyone agrees or thinks other-wise please feel free to add and enlighten us on this awsome Tyranid rule,:w00t:
I play it likes it's only counts for shooting, don't forget that in cc the TgG and HT are 2 different units so it's not like a hidden powerfist.
If the tyrant want to swing it's need to be in cc.
Just a point to this discussion. In the Tyrant Guard section it says that the Tyrant guard become a retinue with the Hive Tyrant, but the Hive Tyrant still remains a Monstrous Creature. Since the only rules on retinues I can find are those involving Independant Characters and no where does it say the Hive Tyrant is an independant character, wouldnt that mean the Tyrant and his guard are one unit? On this I could be wrong as I cant seem to find the right section of the rules either way.
the retinue rules apply to the fact that the tyrant can't just leave the tyrant guard.
Also it's not a single unit, it's 2 seperate units the Tyrant guard and the hive tyrant, the "shieldwall" rule is there to enable them to protect the tyrany just because it's a size 3 model and normally can't be blocked by size 2 models by shooting.
Dreachon I think you are right, I have been using the rules the proper way so far, might as well keep going, I just worked myself up when I meet diffrent people with diffrent opinions and read the codex, rule book in diffrent way.
Whoa, wait, what?Originally Posted by Dreachon
I think you're confused Dreachon. A retinue is simply a collection of models that is attached to something to form a single unit. For instance, a retinue of Chosen that joins a Chaos Lord is all one unit, but the Independant Character rules allow models to target the Lord seperatly in the Assault Phase. Page 35 of the Tyranid Codex specifies that the Tyrant Guard are a retinue, so will form a single unit with the Hive Tyrant.
However, the Hive Tyrant is not an Independant Character. He may not be specifically targeted in the Assault Phase, so wounds may be assigned to the Guard as normal.
I agree with Caluin. Furthermore, there is nothing in the rulebook that says a Monstrous Creature may be picked out in close combat. That is only the case for Independant Characters (since they count as a separate unit in combat).
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
What I ment with that is that IC can't leave a retinue like they could a normal unit they have joined.
What I mean with 2 seperate units is that the hive tyrant does not function like a hidden powerfists, in cc both the tyrant guard and hive tyrant are considered as 2 seperate units.
Sorry if I confused you.
Still I'm not to sure if hits in cc can be allocated to the tyrant, it would be nice if GW FaQ this one, i do see your point about assinging hits to the tyrant guard but I think that it might be a bit to cruel on opponents