Welcome to Librarium Online!
Not really a topic just another observation of how bad GW rules writers are.
The sniper squads spotter is equipped with a drone controller and has 3 Sniper drones in his unit.
The entry for drone controllers in the armoury states a model with a drone controller must take 1 or 2 gun, marker or shield drones in any combination, now gun, shield and marker drones are all specific drone types,and the sniper drone is glaringly absent from the list of drones that must be taken.
This means that a sniper team has to take another drone of some type does it not.
Does anybody think GW actually read and test the codexes before they are released or do they leave it to people like us?
Lol. That is pretty funny, but I dont think that the spotter has to take two more drones.
4 years serving the Greater Good.
According to the rules as written he does, it says in the armoury that any model equipped with a drone controller must take one of the 3 listed types and snipers aint one of em.GW should really get their act together. What with this and the Pathfinder DF scout rule amongst others bloody amatuers.Originally Posted by GlisteningDragon4215
Only Shas'ui team leaders or Tau of higher rank may take upgrades from the armory (this includes drones). As the spotter is just a spotter with no rank assigned and is not specifically mentioned on the list of which models can take upgrades, he is exempt from the rule. The only reason GW gave him a drone controller in the first place is to make it logical that he can control the drones.
1500 years ago everybody knew the Earth was the center of the Universe
500 years ago everybody knew the world was flat
5 minutes ago you knew humans were alone on the planet
Imagine what you'll know tomorrow
You are bringing fluff and logic into warhammer which,with GW, you shouldnt. I do agree with you though. I am sure this will be in a FAQ sooner of later.
4 years serving the Greater Good.
Actually your wrong Stealth suits can take items from the amoury and they dont have to be Shas'Ui or higher, and there is no list of models who are allowed to take wargear in the infantry wargear section, it just says models not in battlesuits (of which the spotter is one) so he should be taking one of the other drone types as it specifically states in the armoury.Originally Posted by Phoenix Guard 1988
Also Glisteningdragon, its not fluff its codex rules and its nothing to do with logic, its to do with shoddy playtesting, rules testing and plain ineptness
Another balls-up of Games Workshop.
Here's what I think they'll say,
"Its a *special" drone controller. It is automatically linked to the Sniper drones, and he can't take any others".
And no, they don't play test. If they do they're crap at it.
Stealth suits are already Shas'uis.Originally Posted by rikimaru
Clearly, we can all agree that what GW wrote and what they intended are two different things. Some people seem to be arguing with Riki that you don't 'have' to take the extra drones with your sniper team. The problem is...Riki's right. By the strictest reading of the rules, the spotter does have an item which forces him to take more drones; an obvious error on GWs part. The army list at the back of the book and the GW webbsite's Tau tactics section are examples of how the unit is meant to function.
It bothers me most to see so many rules issues pop up so quickly. This isn't the only grey area in the book to be noticed. I hope a FAQ is released sooner rather than later to fix the muddy issues.
Edit: Looking at GWs Sniper Drone tactics section sent me rolling my eyes again. It makes mention of picking your team up in a Devilfish to move them. The Devilfish is a dedicated transport, GW! It's not an Eldar Falcon! These blundering imbeciles can't learn their own rules.
Last edited by Durandal; April 15th, 2006 at 19:54.
This is funny, really belongs in the "funny things" thread than the stuff that's there now. GW should really need some beta-testers to try out and read through the dex before it is released. Not that I think that they havn't, but they really need some new ones....
Rikimaru's spot on here.
Just to make the rules more messed up, the Spotter's drone controller requires him to have two gun or shield drones but it is impossible for him to have them, as they aren't included in his profile and he has not option to purchase things from the armoury.
So he's an illegal unit. Luckily we all know what he's supposed to be. Anyone who brings up this contradiction to me in a game is a funny guy. Anyone who brings this up to me expecting me to buy extra drones or not field the snipers at all gets to be beaten with my miniatures case.