Welcome to Librarium Online!
Since we are on the topic of the Broodlord.... I think they were wrong not to give the broodlord fleet and come to think of it what is the point for the broodlord having a BS skill? It isn't like he can pick up a weapon and fire it.....its almost like a chaplain without an invulnerable save that can't shoot....and it footslogs as bad as a carnifex
Well, you never know... it might come in handy if he decides to throw a dead Guardsman at someone.Originally Posted by gunslinger2005
Aside from that... there's no practical reason for the Brood Lord to have a ballistic skill, except having it raises his points a little.
For that matter, why do tyrant guard also have a BS? Hormagaunts do too, but I could grudgingly concede that's because they're just specialised gaunts.
Was there a time when these species had guns? Did the Tyranids get ripped off, or just badly edited?
I've thought about it, and this is my answer.
Because that way, should GW ever decide in the future to add new biomorphs, they could add biomorphs that rely upon a models BS skill and not have to think about what values to assign to them later on.
For instance, perhaps they'll release a Codex update (It's happened before! Look at Dark Eldar!) and has a CC biomorph that uses the BS skill to hit. That'd be appropriate for Hormies, Tyrant Guard, and Broodlords....
it just seems weird that he would be dwarfed like that..... too bad we can't deepstrike him into terrain like the lictor.
Well many CC mdoels have BS for the reasons Caluin said, but you can also think of it as representative of if that model were to shoot and how well it would do.
I certainly agree that it seems silly that the broodlord does not have fleet of claw. At least until you realize that with it there is a pretty good chance of getting a first turn charge. Perhaps to remedy the potential for a first turn charge the rules could be revised to say that a broodlord must infiltrate out of sight and therefore a maxiumum of 18" away from the enemy.
"Dare to be Naive"
If someone helps you, or you just like what they say, rep them
technically it is still possible to get a first turn charge if you do well on your move through cover rolls... deploy him 6 inches into the woods 6 inches away from an enemy line and he can still charge.
well can't you give it leaping (sry if this is wrong i am new to tyranids)