Welcome to Librarium Online!
Hey all, it's been a while since I last posted, but this question has been nibbling away at me. I was scanning through the Tyranid codex and realized that Spore Mines are still available as a fast attack option. However, I'm unsure whether they can be used in a similar way to Grey Knights orbital bombardment (ie direct attack). According to the spore mines rule, if they come into contact with enemy models, the spore mines explode. However, according to the deepstrike rules, if a unit A deepstrikes onto enemy unit B, the unit A is "destroyed", implying that the unit doesn't even get to enter play, and thus, fails to explode. So the question is, if I deepstrike a spore cluster onto an enemy unit or vehicle, will the spore mines explode, or will they just "vanish" as is the custom with everyone else (aside from SM drop pods)
My gaming group's new motto: That army you're using is overpowered because it hurts my guys, codex is broken and needs a rewrite.
I think this has been covered before and I think the result was that they do explode. Basically it comes down to the fact that by landing on a unit they are destroyed, if they are destroyed they release their contents, if they release their contents then they take hits and or wounds.
If you really need a good source then you should go to the GW forums or contact them directly. Personally I would not ask anyone else who doesnt play Tyranids as they will most often say they are just normally destroyed.
If you deepstrike mines and the land within a enemy squad they explode and do their listed dmg....it's no different than if they were shot...they are still being "destroyed" and they still explode.
Aye Loestal is correct destroyed is destroyed and they explode when they are destroyed.