Welcome to Librarium Online!
Does the monolith suffer from Crew Shaken and Crew Stunend results on the vehicle damage table?
My brother plays Necrons and is confused by this fact, as the Monolith has "no crew".
Can someone point out where I can find an answer to this?
I'm not sure that it was ever officially addressed. I always play it as ignoring those results since it doesn't have a crew.
There is no rule stating it is exempt from that damage, thus it can be stunned.
Even though it has no crew the damage chart was written for the 'typical' tanks (i.e, crewed by guardsmen, guardians, boyz etc).
Thanks both of you.
I think The_Outsider's rules seems more torunament correct, while Justnic's rules seem house rules.
I'll make sure to check with the Red Shirts.
The rule for the Power Matrix states that it can be used if shaken or stunned. This means the Monolith can use it's portal to transport units or it can fire it's particle whip when shaken or stunned as both are functions of the Power Matrix (Necron Codex Pg. 21). The monolith may not fire its flux arc if shaken or stunned and may not move if stunned.
I have never seen a "rule" stating that the Monolith does not have a crew (although it does sound fluffy). It simply has a rule that negates some of the crew shaken/stunned rules.
The codex states that the monolith has no crew, and considering that the damage results clearly say 'crew shaken/ stunned', it could be interpreted that no crew = nothing to stun, hence no stunning. Had it have meant to be effective against non-crewed vehicles, it would have stated 'vehicle stunned'.
However, because the power matrix is specifically mentioned to be exempt from stunning, it could be interpreted that this proves that the rest of the 'lith can be stunned, because there would have been no need to mention the matrix in particular otherwise.
*In My Mind*
(><)This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world Domination!
Agreed, good deduction.Originally Posted by Tunisia
Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007
Where in the Necron Codex does it state the Monolith has no crew? I've read and re-read pg 21 and I don't information any where. Maybe it was in the reprinting of the Necron Codex? I have one of those first printing ones. There are a few differences.
In the most recent version it says
Ok...but what page does it say it on? Is it written on page 21? (assuming the page numbers are still the same in the newer printings)and is it writen in the rules or as part of the fluff?