Welcome to Librarium Online!
Let me just state a few things:
Fact1:Wargear is the latest book, and, as such, is officially the conclusive one (i.e. has priorty over all previous books/errata/faq's/rulings)
Fact2:pg 56 4th entry states clearly (an i quote) "Reaver jetbikes are treated in the same way as the Eldar jetbike (see page 46)."
THis is a change from the previous entry (rulebook) which says that tbhe reaver is "like" a Eldar jetbike apart from exception ... blah blah blah...
So this is a new addition to the argument over the DE jetbike
Fact3g 46 entry 5 says Blah ... Blah ... some random fluff-style description... no actual rules...blah ..blah..."They use all the rules for Eldar jetbikes given in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook." (would like to point out that the english standard is now a space ergo. 40 000 not 40,000 - random fact...)
Therefore from these three facts we can safely (i.e. definitively) assume that Reaver 'bikes use all the rules for Eldar jetbikes given in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook.
(i'm sure this has sunk in for most of you, but to jolt your memories- )So now we go to the rule book, pant-lots of referring-pant...
Boxout referring to Eldar Jetbikes:
Eldar jetbike units are always allowed to move 6" in the Assault phase, even if they don't assault. When Eldar jetbikes....blah blah...stuff about move through terrain...blah
If this has already been covered i hang my head in shame at the backward gw i go to...
If not i am great and rule and stuff:yes:
That does make sense, and your logic is impeccable.
So yeah, I suppose they can move EXACTLY like eldar jetbikes.
Last edited by The_Outsider; May 1st, 2006 at 19:41.
I'm no expert but you do seem to have covered all the bases with sensible logic, so I suppose what you are saying is correct.
Unless anyone can prove otherwise that is.
Those deathwing players whose armour saves got reduced to 3+ will be happy...
Some good logic, but that part right there is flawed. The Wargear book is not definitive, and was never intended to be a source of rules. It's meant to be a quick reference guide that allows one to have a handy book to carry along without the need of carrying all the Codecis of various armies. The book even states this on the cover page - "This book is designed to be a handy gaming aid." To claim that it is the end all of rules is flawed. For instance, I could now claim Terminators have a 3+ save as ArchonAstaroth mentioned.Originally Posted by kohan
Now, the book does mention that all the rules are up to date, but they lie. For instance, I dare you to find any mention that Dark Eldar can't have more than one mask. The Wargear book doesn't mention it at all.
It's a good try, I'll give you that - but using the Wargear as a source of rules just does not work.
As much as I would love to use the 6" bump in the assault phase - I will not do so until it is clearly stated in the DE codex - so maybe never.
There have been times I have tried to use the Wargear book to find a rule or info only to have the opposing player scoff at it - what a waste.
But I will say that I believe they initially meant for it to have that 6" jump but neglected a clear description. It's a shame too I am a big Reaver user too.
i think your own argument is flawed, if you say that vbecause they made one error, the rest of the rules in the book are in error, that is specious - many books have got errors which are adjusted in the errata, this does not invalidate the entire book...so why would that be the case in 'wargear'?
If , on the other hand, you are suggesting that the entire sentence is an error, i think you could be considered deluded, occasionally the wrong number or word, maybe a repeat of a sentence but never an actual totally wrong sentence.
The final point is that 'wargear' is definitive, it supercedes all other books. In the front of the book it also says that it includes all the corrections and clarifications....(also, just by making something "handy" it does not lessen its validity in anyway, so i find that part, of the arguments against me, flawed...)
*EDIT* to Kwikag, does that mean you don't accept the errata on the website; also, do not be discouraged by the mocking of lesser players, their ridicule is just the ugly spawn of there jealousy at the fine 'weapons and wargear reference manual' you own.
So what is the definite armour save of a terminator now? 2+ pr 3+? Based on what authority do you make that decision?
The reaver jetbike thing is a whole sentence, yes, but it has the stench of an editing mistake. It looks like some bored GW employee writing down what he read in the original pre-4th edition reaver jetbike rules without thinking about the consequences.You can't have that and at the same time maintain that terminators retain a 2+ save. By your argumentation, until a further correction is made, termies have a 3+ armour save.The final point is that 'wargear' is definitive, it supercedes all other books. In the front of the book it also says that it includes all the corrections and clarifications....