Stacking Pinning Modifiers - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Orks_n_Bugs Bugs_n_Orks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Here and there
    Age
    31
    Posts
    1,388
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    188 (x4)

    Stacking Pinning Modifiers

    It's been established that if multiple terrorfexes, or a xenospasm and terrorfexes fire from the same unit, the modifiers stack.

    And according to the rulebook a unit can only take one pinning check per enemy unit firing at it (and usually causing casualties) with pinning weapons.

    So what would happen if I had a Sybarite with a xenospasm hit a unit and also had an attached haemonculus unleash the archangel of pain at the same unit in one shooting phase? Do you think the modifiers would stack in this case?

    The meat things seek to destroy ourselves. They hunt us as we hunt them but they are weak and uncertain. Bring them understanding of the power of ourselves through our strength and their fear. The inferior flesh will be entirely destroyed, all fragments will be smashed. Ourselves will fight to the last, all weak flesh must be consumed

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Tomb King medic_4077's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Calgary
    Age
    45
    Posts
    671
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    42 (x2)

    An interesting thought.

    FAQ 4.0 describes stacking Xenospasm grenade effects fired from the same unit.
    Where's the reference to stacking multiple terrorfexes?
    Where's the source to stacking terrorfex and xenospam grenades?

    Even though all firing (from one squad) is resolved silmultaneously I doubt you'd convince many players to let you stack pinning effects unless it was stated explicitly in the wargear's description.
    War Record Since Sept 2005
    Old Codex 48-20-9 Dark Eldar
    New Codex 1-0-0 Dark Eldar

  4. #3
    Junior Member all_seeing_eye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    22
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Yay i do think the modifiers stack becuase the pinning test is made at the end of the shooting phase with fallback etc.

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by all_seeing_eye
    the pinning test is made at the end of the shooting phase with fallback etc.
    Actually, it isn't. It's taken after the unit with Pinning weapons is done shooting. (Page 32) As such, since two Raiders are two separate units, that's two Pinning Tests -- one after each Raider fires its Horrorfex.

    EDIT: If the Pinning weapons were from the same unit, then the modifiers probably would stack.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  6. #5
    Member Hand of Death's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Burnaby, BC, Canada
    Posts
    55
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    In the FAQ it says xenospasm effects stack if fired form same unit, but aren't xenospasms limited to one per army?

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts