Can you use tail weapons when being charged? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    167
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    Can you use tail weapons when being charged?

    If an enemy unit charges a Carnifex with a tail weapon and at least four enemies make base to base contact with the 'fex can the tail attack be used that combat? Does the tail weapon not work because the enemy had not yet made BTB contact @ the begining of the assault phase (before the charge) ?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Actually, it looks to me like the tail weapons can never be used until the second round of combat at earliest, making it unusable the turn the Carnifex charges or is charged.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  4. #3
    Supreme Evil Overlord Dreachon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    the Netherlands
    Age
    34
    Posts
    4,873
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    189 (x8)

    You must be in BTB contact with more than 4 models at the start of the assaultphase, you when you charge of are beeing charged you don't get to use it.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Badmovies.org's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Age
    43
    Posts
    350
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    85 (x1)

    The shame here is that I think the intent was this: Just before to hit rolls begin being made, count the number of models in base to base with the carnifex. If there are more than four, he will be allowed to use the tail weapon. This was to ensure he would get the attack even if attacks with higher initiative remove models.

    By the absolute wording of the rule, I agree and had not noticed this before.
    Tyranids: Hive Fleet Kohr-Ah

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    302
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    The wording is "may make a special close combat attack each turn if more than four enemy models are in base contact with it at the beginning of that assault phase"

    When you charge it is highly unlikely to get 5 models in base contact, unless the enemy has counter charge. It is worth noting that it says at the beginning of the assault. So if you reduce the enemy before init 1 you still get your tail attack/s

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts