Welcome to Librarium Online!
The rules state that a necron lord with a VoD can use it at the start of it movement phase instead of a normal move, then placed back on the table using the deep strike rules. Now my question is are the DS rules only used for the placement of the necrons or for the entire movement phase of the lord, which means he can not use the VoD until his second movement turn?
The rules of the VoD state that the units are "placed using the deep Strike rules." So it means you can use your VoD even on the first turn. The Deep Strike rules inflict only placement of the units (so for exapmle determine if you landed just where you wanted or on a bit different location ).
I thought this was how the rule went, but just wanted a second opinion on it, thanks.
On a side note, if your pinned, can you still use the veil?
I think you can probably use veil if your pinned. its not counted as movement or shooting. plus if you can do it out of combat why not when pinned. but im not sure for certain.