Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
ok theres this guy who took some chapter to where he can have wraithguard as troops. and he has farseers who have that fortune thing.
i wanna know, can he really cast fortune on a unit of wraithguard and they get to re-roll their 3+ saves and their 5+ concealment? and can he cast it on a wraithlord?
In short... yes.
Fortune can be cast on any friendly eldar unit within range and line of sight.
"It was a magnificent display of trained and disciplined valour, and its assault failed of success because dead men can advance no further"Originally Posted by rat of vengence
-refering to the Royal Newfoundland Regiment at Beaumont-Hamel after they took 90% casualties in the assault
Fortune can be used on any type of saving throw (armour, inv., cover).
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
Well I'd say yes he can re-roll the normal armour saves but he can;t re-roll that and conceal, he has to pick either one.
Well you don't choose what save they re-roll, they can re-roll cover or armour saves, so if i wound you with a boltgun, you take a re-rollable 3+ save, if i wound you with a las cannon, you get a 5+ re-rollable save.
so what if i pump the unit full of shots, then he uses a ton of re-rolls, can he still keep re-rolling or has he run out of them?
what about fortune and guide in close combat?
do those two count as shooting, mind war and eldrich storm do and cant be used in CC and can't fire pistol but can u use pistol and use in CC when casting fortune and guide?
You can only re-roll a dice once, or it would be unneccessary to roll them at all since all would succeed. You re-roll as many saves as you get wounds, but only once, hope you get what I'm saying? This one time, for example, my Seer Council was pumped with over 50 pulse rifle/carbine/burst cannon shots from various Tau units, but I could still re-roll every single one of them once if they failed. And then, if another unit would shoot at me, I could still re-roll those saves as well.
You can use Fortune and Guide in close combat, they do not count as shooting since they are not cast in the shooting phase. There was a very long discussion about this a while ago though, I don't know if we really all agreed on this... but this is my interprenation at least.
You can use the pistol in CC as a close combat weapon, but you cannot use it to shoot.
Warhammer Fantasy: Warriors of Chaos, High Elves
Warhammer 40k: Eldar, Space Marines, Orks
What Viktor said. :shifty:
Fortune allows you to re-roll Armour Saves, Inv. Saves, Cover Saves or any other Save that you might have.
Let's say this Farseer casts Fortune on a squad of Striking Scorpions (same armour as marines) that are in cover. Then some SMs shoot with ther 5 bolters and 1 Lascannon at the Scorpions. 4 Bolter shots hit and 3 wounds. The Eldar player manages 2 of his saves but since they had Fortune on them he can re-roll the failed one (which he succedes this time). The Lascannon hit and wound and this time the Scorpions need to do a Cover Save. They fail but can re-roll it since they have Fortune in them and this the player does. Unfortunatley, he fails the save agian and a Scorpion falls.
If another squad fires at them in the same turn, just do like you did above with re-rools and all.
i know about the re-rolling but can u fire a pistol and use guide or fortune in same turn.
and if locked in close combat can u use guide or fortune.