Welcome to Librarium Online!
Alright, this is for quick clarification here.
I have a friend who plays witch hunters and another friend who plays nids. Up until now I had not had a copy of the witch hunter codex.
Basically this is a question about Hammer of the Witches.
As written in the witch hunter codex the hunter player rolls a D6 and that many synapse creatures MUST take a leadership test. Starting with the closest creature and working it's way out.
Isn't that a little silly? I mean, Tyranid creatures within synapse range, including the synapse creature automatically pass any leadership based tests they are required to make except for psychic tests and target priority.
to my the 'pyschic tests' they are referring to are for when you are using psychic powers, not when you are on the receiving end, and even if this was the case, it says it's a leadership test the enemy has to make. NOT a psychic one?
is there an FAQ for this somewhere? or does anybody have some input?
I can see how one might construe it that way, but I don't think there's really any confusion. Hammer of Witches requires psykers to make a Leadership test. It doesn't say "Make a pysychic test but no power is used..." it says "Make a leadership test or X happens." Just because "X" happens to be something related to psykers doesn't mean the test itself is a psychic test.
Since 'Nids in Synapse range auto-pass Leadership tests, then Hammer of the Witches is sort of pointless.
Peachy! That's what I thought! Me and my friend who both play nids have both been screwed by the same rules. I knew something was fishy. The witch hunter player also forgot to mention to my new friend that MC's ignore armor saves.Originally Posted by Caluin
Good to know he's cheating and i'm right. Although I don't think he's cheating deliberatly, I think he's just stupid maybe.
I knew that guy was up to no good...... cheating to win against me.... oh... I'm so kicking his butt.
okay well first off if the guy didn't know mounstrous creatures ignore armour saves it's his own damn fault, the hammer of the witches has been debated about alot in all kinds of circumstances cus in some faq's it has been known to circumvent fearlessness etc however as there has been no mention in any of the faqs for the current whitch hunters then no it does not effect those units however before you go bagging your friend you might want to check what rules he uses and what faqs he has cus info could just be wrong
"take my love, take my land, take me to where i cannot stand, i don't care i'm still free you can't take the sky from meee" ;- firefly
"i'm gonna grant you your greatest wish i'm gonna show you a world without sin" ;- serentiy
"I am a leaf on the wind, watch how i soar" ;- serenity
The issue here is, Synapse does not provide fearlessness, all units under synapse just automatically pass all leadership tests. Since Hammer of the Witches forces a leadership test, and creatures benefitting from Synapse auto-pass leadership tests...Originally Posted by Plague_00
Yeah, and even if in some cheese move they decide to make the witch hunter power work past that the guy playing witchhunters was still more or less cheating anyway. Because Hammer of the witches requires 1 leadership test PER model affected by the power. And it targets D6 models for ONE wound. the guy was rolling a D6 and assigning wounds as he saw fit to whichever synapse creatures he felt like and saying it was 1 leadership test for all d6 worth. When asked to quote the rule he would just pick up his book and say. "Roll a D6. Opponent rolls a leadership test. If he fails the test Enemy psykers take D6 wounds at str whatever no armor saves allowed." And as we don't have his codex, of course we didn't question it. This is also the same guy who says that powerfists go at normal initiative when assaulting.Originally Posted by Caluin
I don't blame my friend entirely, he's only been playing for 2 weeks. He hasn't read through his entire codex yet, nor has he read all the core rules. He's learning though, because whenever he takes a spanking or has a question he asks me and I either look it up, ask about it on here, or already know the answer.
The other guy he plays against however started playing the same time I did last year, so he should damn well know better.