Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, here we go..
1. Pathfinders each automatically come with a pulse carbine and a markerlight, right?
2. Lets say my squad of 4 pathfinders shoot thier markerlights and 3 hit. Can I then shoot my seeker missiles, possibly 2 from a skyray and 1 from a hammerhead?
3. The Piranha says "...becomes an effective tank hunter, particularly when guided to target by Pathfinder Teams." How is that?
4. How exactly does the Networked Markerlight work? What does it mean by "the owner's unit may benefit from its use?" Wouldn't any squad be able to benefit from thier own markerlight?
Thanks in advance...
2. yes (I think so, not positive though)
3. If you mark a tank with the markerlights, then the pirahna can launch seeker missiles (If you put them on the pirahna) and it also helps with the simple fact that it ups the pirahna's BS, which means it hits more often.
4. no, ex. when you give a shas'ui a markerlight, it shoots with its unit, and therefore you couldn't use the shas'ui's markerlight shot to up the BS of his firewarriors (I think)
Hope this helped.
2.) yes (positive)
1500 years ago everybody knew the Earth was the center of the Universe
500 years ago everybody knew the world was flat
5 minutes ago you knew humans were alone on the planet
Imagine what you'll know tomorrow
3.) piranhas have crappy Bs, for people who dont want to waste points on a targetting array, pathfinders can buff up their BS for exploding tanks.
All of which makes me anxious, sometimes unbearably so
4) in that case, wouldn't you be able to use the markerlight first, then shoot with the rest of the FW's in that squad to get the bonus?
If not, then you would have to shoot the markerlights with the pathfinder squad to up the BS of the FW squad that would be shooting after them?
Yep but only on pathfinders, some people seem to think all carbines get a free ML, they do not.Originally Posted by Scrythe1 Markerlight hit can call the launch of one seeker missile, it does not matter who has the the seeker, so effectively you could fire 3 seekers from 3 seperate vehicles.Originally Posted by ScrytheAny unit can benefit from improved BS from a ML hit, so if the Pathfinder team hit with 2 ML shots the pirahna squads BS could be increased to BS 5 so tehy hit on 2+ (very nice) also the Pirahna can take seekers (this and the fusion option are whats referred to by 'tank hunters')Originally Posted by ScrytheIf a FW unit takes a normal ML it cannot use the ML hit to benefit its own unit (quite simply the most illogical stupid rule in the Tau codex), the only way you can do that is to take a very expensive networked markerlight drone, all a networked markerlight does is give you the choice of ML for another unit or your own, normal ML's do not have this option they mark for another unit.Originally Posted by Scrythe
Read the shooting rules. Fire from a unit is simultaneous, the markerlight is fired at the same time as the pulse rifles. The exception is networked markerlights.Originally Posted by Scrythe