Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, the description says any model being attacked by the creature, my question is this: Is that cumulative? and does the minus to WS apply when that model is in combat with other models as well? Here are some examples:
a) Bloodthirster charged by Carnifex and Tyrant, both with Toxic Miasma. Does he lose 2 WS?
b) Eldar Banshee Exarch charged by Carnifex and hormagaunts- Does the Exarch lose WS while fighting the hormagaunts?
a) No, because the attacks are being directed at only one of them. If some how you were splitting attacks between them it would be communulative though.
b) No, because then the attacks are not being directed towards the carnifex.
Both of these scenarios would be true if it was "if they are in cc with the unit with toxic miasma" but it says that the -1 is only for attacks directed or directed from the unit with it.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
No, it says any creature attacked by or directing it's attack at. I would think it would continue affecting for all combats and be cumulative. But, it's not that big because TM is awesome no matter how you read the rule.
Imagine the horror of someone charged with a Carnie with 2 sets of lash whips, tm, and a hive tyrant with same? Ouch, Minus 2 WS and 4 Attacks while facing full enemy attacks? Ouch. But that's an extreme thought. Or even scarier, Tyrant Guard with TM that's cumulative and lash whips. Uber strong in CC but slow. Probably be very expensive, points wise
Yes they do stack, as long as the creatures are in combat then they suffer the -1 Attack from a lash whip pr -1 WS cumulative it is scary what you could do to a SM assault squad with tyranid guard.
If you like the post click the *STAR* <===
I started a thread in the rules healp question about toxic miasma. So far, people have said that it only works for attacks coming from or directed to the creature with TM. So it does not stack.
Let me give an example.Originally Posted by InnuitFireman
3 Zoanthropes attack a squad of imperial guard. The guardsmen in this are numbered 1-10 zoanthropes a-c
Zoan A attacks the guardsmen but can only reach guardsmen 1-5 due to the number of guardsmen in range of the combat with the model he is in BtB with.
Zoan B attacks the Guardsmen but can only hit 3-8 and Zoan C attacks but can only hit 5-10
Now Guardsmen 1-2 and 9-10 would suffer -1 to there WS, Guardsmen 3-4 and 6-7 would suffer -2 and guardsmen 5 would suffer the full -3 however he can't be reduced to below 1 so there -2
Note each zoan is only effecting the guardsmen that they are in combat with or in other words the models they the enemy could allocate wounds to if desired
It gets complicated if two squads are attacking you because you may choose to ignore to hit one squad. However you could say (and we do) that they are still in the combat so they still recieve the negative bonus to their WS.
Hope this has helped Carni.
If you like the post click the *STAR* <===
In the spanish codex says that "any mini locked en close combat with a tyranid with toxic miasma get a -1ha". So if you got 2 tyranids with toxic miasma locked in close combat with the same mini/minis they do stack. And with this rule you can have an unit of 40 conscripts with -1ha because all of them are locked in close combat with the tyranid with toxic miasma if you are reading the spanish edition rules "yay for spain".
It is not cumulative. It states that anyone attacking or being attacked by something with TM gets a -1 WS. It doesn't state they get a -1 WS per creature with TM like it does with psychic scream.
Same scenario applies to the spanish wording, as well. If they're locked with a nid who has TM, they get -1, period. Not -1 per.
I agree with moob on this one, but must admit that the wording in the codex leaves it open to interperetation. I think the intended function of TM is to let you take what is essentially another +1 WS.
I.E. if you want +1 WS on your tyrant buy AG, if you want another +1 WS buy miasma as well, but it will cost more.
i was originally going to put both weapon skill upgrades on my tyrant, but most of the time it'd be hitting on 3's with just the one anyway. And anything else that it wouldnt, i'd prefer to just shoot to death with a gunfex anyway.
The only time i can see the combo working is with a CC fex, which to me desperately needs both of those.
And so the Ultramarines Tyrannic War Veteran says to his friend "Lictor? I hardly knew her"Originally Posted by Karmoon