Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Do Tomb Spyders function better with the Particle Projector or with 3 attacks?
The BS is 2, so 3 shots hitting on 5s is about 1 hit/round, and then you have to roll to wound... But it is ranged and has the nifty AP3.
Point is, I'm thinking of optionin gmy army to possibly include a TS if need arises, and I'm not sure what to go with. Here's what the list is:
Tomb Spyder x1
And that comes out to 1500 points.
As you can see, there is already 2 total cc groups (Dlord is w/ wraiths) so im leaning toward the Particle Projector. Any ideas/preferences?
Their low WS is more forgiving than their low BS, go with the 3 attacks.
Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007
Based on my experience with Orks and BS2, I'd say keep the extra attack. 3 BS2 shots will all fail more than you would think
But why use a tomb spyder in the list you have there? Everything you have other than the warriors can't benefit from the spyder's WBB boost, as there is only one unit of any of them. If you want it for cc support, ther are better ways to get that...
I say if you are up against 3+ saves use the gun, otherwise use the extra attack. Truth is over the course of a game either one is likely to give you one extra kill. This choice will NOT win you or lose you the game. Trust me.
Remember as well, that the Tomb Spyder will usually be escorting Necron Warriors, who shoot exceptionally well, themselves. Since the Warriors are not being escorted by a Res.Orb, a Spyder is a fine choice.
However, the rest of the list is...not ideal. It lacks focus and spends way too many points on kit for the Lords.
On an aside, 1,500 points is one of those "in-between" sized games where the Necrons can't seem to get it together. At that point level, the Necrons' opponents are beginning to be able to utilize a lot of their heavy weapons, but the Necrons' really expensive toys still have to wait until the games get larger.
WHFB: Dwarfs || WH40k: Imperial Fists, Necrons || WM/H: Trollbloods || BFG: Necrons
I think you wont need chronometron for the Lord
I would suggest
This guy is fully suped up for CC to complement wraiths
I dunno, a Chronometron is an ideal CC upgrade, since on the off chance you win combat and the enemy flees, you now get to roll 2 dice and take the highest for sweeping advance checks.
But I agree with Quick on the bulk of this list...it seems a little all over the place. If I were you, I decide if I wanted a strong fire base with CC support or lots of CC with somelong range fire to back it up. I'm looking at the Immortals/Flayed Ones in particular. I'd drop one of those units and try to double up on the other one.
As far as a PP on the Spyder, I think it's a great deal. Statistically, it will give you one more attack a round (as that horrific BS means 2 out of three will miss), but you have the potential to score 3 shooting attacks in addition to your charging attacks. And on those rare occasions when all three do hit, it's a nice thing.
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
I might be wrong since Im still new to the game, but dont jetbikes roll already additional d6 to retreat and sweep advance? since hes planning to use his Lord with 3 wraiths, they are all jetbikes,
Actually no none of the necron units are jetbikes the only MOVE and shoot like jetbikes so thus they don't get the additinal d6(if they could first of all I don't remeber).
Is it me or does any other necron player get annoyed when they see people saying "Necrons eat souls". How is that even possible as souls are part of the warp and necrons want nothing to do with it? Eh probaly me just me being picky.
Tyranid Hivemind Member
I do not agree. So far in all games I played destroyers have all the rules of jetbikes including turbo boosters, dangerous terrain checks if they enter cover etc..I do not see why they should fall back regularly if they are for all intents and purposes jetbikes. I do not know how sweeping advance will work for jetbikes. So if they do not get 3d6 to sweep advance, destroyers shouldnt either and it might be a good idea to include ichronometron. Oh and falling back is a part of MOVING so your statement doesnt really make much senseOriginally Posted by Lictor1989