Welcome to Librarium Online!
My friend was going on teh other day about how since the DLord's Toughness is upped to 6 from 5, he can still be instant killed because intant kill ignores added stats or something like that. Is that right?
No, the destroyer lord cannot be instakilled by strength 10 weaponry. The destroyer body turns the toughness up to 6 which unlike say a space marine bike only turns the marine to a toughness of 4(5).
page 27 in the rulebook... It says that no wargear item bonus will effect the instant death.
page 15 in Necrons codex... It says under wargear that it gives him +1 T and therefore he is imune to instant death.
Welcome to the world of contradiction in Games Workshop.
I belive that it is official that GW says any current codex will override the rulebook, but I am not sure about that one. So; the answer (untill better pops up) is that you CANNOT instant kill a necron lord with Destroyer Body upgrade, as that is in the codex that overrules the rulebook...
-lurking in the shadows of LO.
Officially diagnosed by TekoreMelkhior, Necrarch Lord
Actually, the rulebook always has presidence over the codex, however, in this case, I think it's the exception. It does say specifically that he cannot be instant deathed, and I think it's because the destroyer body is actually fused to him, whereas a Bike would just be something that is ridden.
destroyers have also T5 and not T 4(5) so they canÂ´t be instand killed by missiles and lascannons
and of course GW is alwayÂ´s :wacko: LOL
"I could calculate your chance of survival, but you won't like it."
"Shut up! Sit your ass down in that chair and DRINK YOUR GODDAMN TEA!" - Cid FFVII
There is no contradiction. The rules for bikes in the core rules describes the bonus of +1T gained from riding a bike and the limitations of that bonus. Destroyers are stated to be counted as jetbikes for movement purposes only. Thus, all bonuses to other stats are from some other feature besides being called a jetbike. The same goes for the DLord, not to mention the rules explicitly say that the DLord cannot be insta-killed by S10 weapons.
Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007
Actually every time this particular case has came up, the codex has taken precedent over the rulebook. The reason why itâ€™s stated in the 4th edition rulebook is because many older codices donâ€™t mention if bikes count towards instant death or not.
Itâ€™s not some extra bulk you can shoot around, the Destroyer is actually part of the Lord.
I think the rule book is more of a General rules blanket and the codices provide more detailed rules for that particular army.
To sum up-
The codex states that destroyers are jetbikes for movement only, a such, they are a true T5 (and their profile does not say 4(5) )
As such, a destroyer lord becomes a true T6 and cannot suffer instant death.
I've always reasoned it like this:
A bike grants you a +1 toughness bonus.
A destroyer body actually increases the base stat.
Wake. Rise. Destroy. Conquer.
We have done so once. We will do so again.