i hate being a newb - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member bluealien 47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    area 47
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -3 (x0)

    i hate being a newb

    I got a lot of questions and i hate to sound like every other newb but i gotta ask

    1. when u upgrade a lord with a warscyth, does it still shoot like a staff of light? or does it trade shooting for invulnerable smashing?

    2. sometimes GW loves being vauge, ok TS's i understood it like they preform the same thing as a res. orb but for 12" in every direction. is that correct? what im asking is does it negate, weapons that negate WBB. i know thats confusing but i mean can it give WBB to units that wouldnt have it because of there terms of death (ie. strength 9 weapons, power weapons and CC with no armour save)

    3. instant death and saves, lets say a termie group is marching the necrons and has the unfortunate future of living out the rest of there lives under a ordance template of a particle whip now, heres the question termie toughness is only 4 right? so a STR 9 weapon is instant death but particle whip has an AP of 3 so it doesnt negate there save. do characters who take a blow from an instant death get their saves?

    In the name of god impure souls of the living dead shal be banished into eturnal damnation. Amen.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by bluealien 47
    1. when u upgrade a lord with a warscyth, does it still shoot like a staff of light? or does it trade shooting for invulnerable smashing?
    The upgrade is a replacement.

    2. sometimes GW loves being vauge, ok TS's i understood it like they preform the same thing as a res. orb but for 12" in every direction. is that correct? what im asking is does it negate, weapons that negate WBB. i know thats confusing but i mean can it give WBB to units that wouldnt have it because of there terms of death (ie. strength 9 weapons, power weapons and CC with no armour save)
    No, the Tomb Spider does not act as a Res Orb. It just enables damaged Necrons within its area of effect to circumvent the requirement that a model of the same type must be within 6".

    3. instant death and saves, lets say a termie group is marching the necrons and has the unfortunate future of living out the rest of there lives under a ordance template of a particle whip now, heres the question termie toughness is only 4 right? so a STR 9 weapon is instant death but particle whip has an AP of 3 so it doesnt negate there save. do characters who take a blow from an instant death get their saves?
    Instant Death by itself does not negate Armour Saves.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  4. #3
    Senior Member bluealien 47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    area 47
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -3 (x0)

    ok thank you but one more wuestion, why do parias still shoot?
    In the name of god impure souls of the living dead shal be banished into eturnal damnation. Amen.

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nashville,TN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    The pariah's warscythe still shoots whereas the lord's warscythe doesn't shoot is because the pariah are the newest addition to the necrons. Therefore they have the best technology, wargear, etc. While the lord has his trust warscythe given to him 20 millenia ago.

  6. #5
    Senior Member nexus-star's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Daemonettes Dorm rooms
    Age
    28
    Posts
    524
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    28 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by bluealien 47
    3. instant death and saves, lets say a termie group is marching the necrons and has the unfortunate future of living out the rest of there lives under a ordance template of a particle whip now, heres the question termie toughness is only 4 right? so a STR 9 weapon is instant death but particle whip has an AP of 3 so it doesnt negate there save. do characters who take a blow from an instant death get their saves?
    the guy under the little hole of the template gets a AP1 hit and MUST be gemoved acording to the erratta, that gives you good character sniping possibility WITH A TANK!!!:w00t:
    this way i have sniped more than 25 characters


    "I could calculate your chance of survival, but you won't like it."
    "Shut up! Sit your ass down in that chair and DRINK YOUR GODDAMN TEA!" - Cid FFVII

  7. #6
    Member Ling_Lover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Age
    26
    Posts
    127
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ostol
    No, the Tomb Spider does not act as a Res Orb. It just enables damaged Necrons within its area of effect to circumvent the requirement that a model of the same type must be within 6".
    this isnt strictly true... there has to be another of this unit type on the table as well remember
    Quote Originally Posted by nexus-star
    the guy under the little hole of the template gets a AP1 hit and MUST be gemoved acording to the erratta, that gives you good character sniping possibility WITH A TANK!!!:w00t:
    this way i have sniped more than 25 characters
    with the new rules, dont they get to choose who they remove? and they dont actually have to be from under the template? wouldnt that make character sniping kinda hard if they could just remove another guy?
    Last edited by Ling_Lover; June 24th, 2006 at 15:31.

  8. #7
    Senior Member crazedcucco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Age
    25
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Ling_Lover
    with the new rules, dont they get to choose who they remove? and they dont actually have to be from under the template? wouldnt that make character sniping kinda hard if they could just remove another guy?
    They can choose all but the guy who is directly under the hole taking the AP1 hit.
    ____________________________________________________________

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    138
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    How would that work with a Tyranid Hive Tyrant with his Tyrant guards? Since you can't target the HT, how do you place the template?

    Phil

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    VA, MN, LA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    390
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    Targeting and placing a pie plate are two differnt issues.

    You can center a pie plate on the HT without targeting it.
    Fifth Edition Saved 40k for Me. I love my ratlings and my cover saves!


  11. #10
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    To the best of my knowledge, only mind war, a vindacre assassin and the monolith's particle whip allow you to "snipe" particular models within a unit.

    Thats why the particle whip is so great (even if it does scatter).

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts