Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So yesterday I had a ladder match at work vs. one of the threee SM players. I've beaten him twice before with my current army list, so he knows my army pretty well now, and he decided to "change it up" just for our ladder match. He takes five tactical squads, each w/ one missle launcher and each w/ a dedicated Razorback Transport armed w/ a 2L Lascannon. So he basically made an army list that was meant to destroy my current army list by maximizing his heavy firepower shots vs. my many lightly armored vehicles. He decimated me. That's fine....whatever.
But during our deployments, a question came up. I know it's legal to not place a unit inside its' dedicated transport during deployment (pg. 81), but how far can the unit be placed FROM the transport? Aren't there any restrictions?
Also, during our match, the difference(s) between Ordinance and Barrage and Ordinance Barrage came up (I had a Basilisk, and he had a Whirwind that was dropping mines all over the place). I could have sworn that I read somewhere or was told by someone that a Looted Basilisk ADDS together it's scatter dice result instead of taking the highest. I was pretty new to the rules back when it was brought up, so I never questioned it....until now. Someone please tell me I haven't been running my Bassie wrong for the last month plus!
Ordnance: if on a vehicle can move and fire, but that's the only weapon it can fire. Uses ordnance chart vs vehicles. Scatters two dice if you move and take the highest.
Barrage: Not necessarily ordnance or large blast for that matter (think mortar). These are generally shells coming down on a squad from some unknown source (they're always a guess weapon as far as I can tell). These cause pinning tests. Scatter: just one die
Ordnance Barrage: Only mounted on vehicles, and can not move and fire ordnance barrage. These are found on the whirlwind, griffon mortar, and the indirect fire option of the basilisk. These also cause pinning with additional LD penalties because of how big the blast is. If you cant see the target you dont add, just take the highest. If you can see the target it's the same as regular ordnance.
Also: no specific rule against having your transport away from the squad.
I didn't think that guess weapons existed anymore--you simply placed templates and rolled the appropriate scatter dice. Haven't played with mortars or barrages since 3rd ed though. I gotta go back and read the rules...:hmm:
Guessing doesn't exist, Grotstompa is correct you just pick the model and roll the scatter. You do have to pick the model and then measure the range though.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)
Close, but not quite right:Originally Posted by Gorfang
Ordinance: Scatters 1d6 on a miss result of the scatter die if stationary, 2d6 if the vehicle moved.
Barrage (Ordinance or no) Scatters 2d6 taking the highest on a miss result.
The parts about what counts as what, movement, & leadership effects is spot on.
Votewar MKV 2nd place. . .
Back from internet limbo, and glad to be here.
I said guess because it means that it's an indirect weapon. Although you no longer actually guess the range many codices still have "G" in the item profile, which stands for guess. Sorry to be confusing there. Also, I believe I said that ordnance only scatters 1d6 if you dont move...didn't I?
For barrage, if you can see the target dont you just roll 1d6?