C'Tan "Above All Others" Rule... - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Age
    35
    Posts
    44
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    C'Tan "Above All Others" Rule...

    I got a weird question. C'tan can be targeted even if they are behind a squad of units due to their above all others rule. But can we hide C'Tan behind a monolith to avoid being shot at? Or by the rules C'Tan is considered "floating high above battlefield" and can be targeted even if he is behind a monolith?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member bluealien 47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    area 47
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -3 (x0)

    i dunno but it does mean he's bigger then MC's
    In the name of god impure souls of the living dead shal be banished into eturnal damnation. Amen.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nashville,TN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    The monolith cannot block line of sight to anything as it is a skimmer.

  5. #4
    Member Kaelis Ra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Age
    45
    Posts
    121
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    You can hide him behind level three terrain. You can place(hide) him behind a monolith and hope your opponent does not see him(forgets) there. But, like Zombiekiller said skimmers do not block LOS.


    Eldar (test phase)
    W / L / D
    0 2 0

  6. #5
    Senior Member bluealien 47's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    area 47
    Posts
    259
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -3 (x0)

    can scimmers block other scimmers? and since he is above all others isnt he therefor like a MC scimmer? so u can see past him or u can? does he himself affect LOS?
    In the name of god impure souls of the living dead shal be banished into eturnal damnation. Amen.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    106
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Ok, he is a MC and that is it for sight restrictions. You plop him behind a tomb spyder and nobody can see him, that are in front. If he is between a model and an enemy, they cannot see past him, as he counts as level 3 terrain.

    So just think of him as an ultra good MC that can beat fully decked out carnefexes in cc.

  8. #7
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    1) A monolith does not block LoS to C'tan (due to its skimmer status)

    2) A tombspyder does block LoS to the C'tan

    Remember, since they are independant characters they were written with different rules in mind (since IC's had different rules in the 3rd ed) a such, "above all others" partly became redundant.

    can scimmers block other scimmers? and since he is above all others isnt he therefor like a MC scimmer? so u can see past him or u can? does he himself affect LOS?
    The actual skimmer rules only apply to tanks that float (hence the name skimmers).

    Since the C'tan are monstrous creatures they block LoS themselves, regardless of how they move.

  9. #8
    Senior Member crazedcucco's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    San Diego
    Age
    25
    Posts
    275
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    The C'Tan may be a skimmer, but think of it as a very large skimmer.
    ____________________________________________________________

  10. #9
    KITTENS GIVE MORBO GAS! theyak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    3,922
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    385 (x8)

    I contend that tomb spyders do not block line of sight, even though it is a monsterous creature: pg20 main rules book. Monsterous creatures do in fact block line of sight, and you cannot shoot THROUGH them but you CAN shoot past or OVER them in this case- "Use a model's eye view to determine if you can see past them" meaning that since the C'tan are far taller models than a tomb spyder you can see over the tomb spyder to hit the c'tan.
    W/D/L Eleventy trillion billion/NONE/ NONE - I am STILL rulezor!
    WINDMILLS DO NOT WORK THAT WAY!

  11. #10
    LO Oldie
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    California, USA
    Posts
    1,248
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    34 (x3)

    Quote Originally Posted by theyak
    I contend that tomb spyders do not block line of sight, even though it is a monsterous creature: pg20 main rules book. Monsterous creatures do in fact block line of sight, and you cannot shoot THROUGH them but you CAN shoot past or OVER them in this case- "Use a model's eye view to determine if you can see past them" meaning that since the C'tan are far taller models than a tomb spyder you can see over the tomb spyder to hit the c'tan.

    ... not if u stack 3 tomb spyders on top of each other! nothing saying you cant :shifty:
    2000pts Orks 4-2-1

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts