Nid painting tips? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Nid painting tips?

Im not really sure if this is the right forum for this sort of thing but im just going to stick it in here because its about tyranids. Anyway moving onto the point of the post, ive never actualy painted a tyranid that im happy with. Its not the colour scheme that my problem is with, im just a lousy painter and end up getting the wrong colour in the wrong bit.:wacko:
    If anybody has any tips on painting them to look like fierce wild animals and not like pansies id like to hear them. Also should i give them a coat of varnish. Ill add some pictures of my tyrant below so you can take a look (and yes i know, bone sword and lash whip is useless. Im going to try and change it soon to 2 pairs of scything talons and wings.)

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

1. Those pics are way too big!

now, on to the painting...

2. Remove all mold lines! bad painter or not, mold lines look nasty;
    3. Thin your paints (or use less on the brush), your paint looks way too thick, which obscures details.
    4. Paint carefully, I'm not a talented artist but my minis come out very nice because I paint carefully, painting a mini (without adding freehand work) is just paint by numbers (for instance I see purple paint on the top right tiny chest claw) :
    5. Go to coolminiornot.com and read articles on highlighting and drybrushing, that will be enough to improve your painting dramatically;