We'll Be Back? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: We'll Be Back?

  1. #1
    Member The_Familiar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    We'll Be Back?

    im not really a necron player, but i thought i would post it here with all the necron experts

    What prevents "we'll be back"? there is a lot of debate in other forums about this and i wanted to clear it up

    My Librarian's familiar just killed a fire warrior and passed two 6+ saves, he has earned the title of The Familiar

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    Insta kill basically, although if there is a lord with a Resurection orb around that will still not negate it
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  4. #3
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Specifically close combat weapons that allow no save (i.e mainly power weapons) and instant death prevents WBB.

    As said, a lord with res orb will let you get WBB even when you normally wouldn't from instant death and being hit by a power weapon.

    There should be no debate on WBB since its explained very clearly in the codex.

  5. #4
    Member The_Familiar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    102
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    what about a psychic power like vortex of doom which sucks guys into the warp, would WBB work for that too?
    My Librarian's familiar just killed a fire warrior and passed two 6+ saves, he has earned the title of The Familiar

  6. #5
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    I believe, as The Outsider says, the wording on WBB is very specific, compare this to the wording on vortex of doom or for example Eldar DCannon
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


  7. #6
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    Upon looking up the vortex of doom power I say it denies WBB even if there is a res orb.

    1) It does not say it causes instant death
    2) It states you are not allowed a save of any kind

    That is one of the few attacks that the necrons can never actually stop.

    [ninja edit] Vortex of doom is just built to own necrons.

    With their low I it will literally rip a unit in half.

    [edit 2]

    http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...10-post16.html

    A post I made on the subject with a bit more concise details.
    Last edited by The_Outsider; July 11th, 2006 at 15:13.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Deek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Beecher Illinois
    Age
    28
    Posts
    975
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    Well technically it is not a saving throw so I am going to do a little reaserch and if I find evidence to prove it either way then I will present it.

  9. #8
    Slave to the flesh The_Outsider's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Where the sun burns in a crimson light
    Posts
    3,353
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    251 (x8)

    True, WBB isn't a saving throw.

    The problem I have encountered is whether or not it denies normal WBB.

    From how I look at it it could be interpreted either way, but I am inclined to say it ignores WBB because the vortex entry says "..destroyed instantly".

  10. #9
    Senior Member Deek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Beecher Illinois
    Age
    28
    Posts
    975
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    Yes you are right it does make sense that if he is sucked into the warp it doesnt matter if he can self repair. But then again it is just a game so one could argue, and these arguments usually end in a hand of fate. So for now if this happens to me I will say the necron is dead.

  11. #10
    Member Tdh6002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Veghel
    Age
    30
    Posts
    157
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x1)

    rules wise, it would have a wwb, cause it doesnt cause instand death. but by logic they wouldn't have any.

    so on a tournament ( where rules usealy count) they would have a wwb.

    and if it would count as instand death, then a res.orb would work

    my 2 thoughts

    michiel
    A word of warning. The next time you get a strange unexplained reading on your Flagship's scanner and sensor arrays, don't dismiss it as a glitch or ghost. The Necrons are a real threat now, and they are out there, biding their time, waiting for you!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts