Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does assaulting, fleeting, or using pile in/after CC movement count as moving for IB tests? Or is it only movement that takes place in the movement phase
(When a mod edits this, feel free to include it as part of Carni's question)
Last edited by Celephais; July 13th, 2006 at 18:08.
IB tests happen at the beginning of your turn, so any broods that pass the test are good to do as they please. If anything moves them out of Synapse range by the end of that turn, it doesn't affect them movement-wise until they need to test again in your next turn.Originally Posted by Celephais
Lower/Lesser rating always ships first!
That doesn't really answer the question. You don't have to test a unit unless you move it, so if I have a brood of fleshborer-gaunts and they are 5" from an opponent at the beginning of my turn but out of synapse. I opt not to move them in the movement phase, I now can either fleet them or fire with them in the shooting phase (lets say I opt to fire). Firing means no IB... now in the Assault phase I opt to charge the opponent, do I need to roll IB? lets say I get into CC, and massacre my opponents, now I am moving D6" from the massacre, do I have to roll IB?Originally Posted by FistofManheim
To extend the question even further, failing IB means you act like you're falling back to the nearest synapse in your movement phase, can you still shoot or charge after failing?
Last edited by Celephais; July 14th, 2006 at 14:40.
Moved these out of the Tyranids FAQ thread. Felt they deserved more attention than a one line answer.Instinctive Behaviour is always rolled for at the beginning of the Movement phase. If you have a brood out of Synapse range, you'll need to plan ahead on what you want them to do. You have two choices - either roll the test if you plan on moving at any time during that turn, or Lurk and remain stationary. If you Lurk, then you may not move at all, which includes Fleet. If you don't plan on moving during the Movement phase but still wish to Fleet later on, then you'll need to roll the IB test and pass it during the Movement phase.You don't have to test a unit unless you move it, so if I have a brood of fleshborer-gaunts and they are 5" from an opponent at the beginning of my turn but out of synapse. I opt not to move them in the movement phase, I now can either fleet them or fire with them in the shooting phase (lets say I opt to fire). Firing means no IB... now in the Assault phase I opt to charge the opponent, do I need to roll IB?
To answer the second part, no you can't shoot while falling back. First you have to regroup or get into synapse range because currently the squad is running away. You aren't acting like you're falling back, you are falling back. This isn't specific to tyranids, if any squad is currently falling back, they can't shoot or charge until they regroup.
Originally Posted by The Paint Monkey
What about charging and Post CC movement? (Sorry about the firing after fleeing question... could have looked that one up, but I'm at work so I don't have my book with me...)
I take the rules to mean, "If i am going to physically move any model in a brood that is outside of synapse, at any time during my turn, then i must roll IB. Since you dont have to take IB if your in combat, pile-ins are excluded.
I just remember that the beginning of all my turns.
Originally Posted by Warrior47
Uh, yes you can.
If u can shoot, can u fleet of claw instead?Originally Posted by moob