Welcome to Librarium Online!
ok I searched the forums and couldn't find anything so heres my question:
If a Zoanthrope has warp field and warp blast he can only use one of them a turn right? so he has to "de-activate" his field to blast someone.
But what about Synapse, If I want to make one a Synapse creature does it have to cast Synapse every turn, thus denying it a warp blast or warp field?
PS: also I need to know what units are generally good in a tyranid horde army, 1000 points.
I was always under the impression Warp Field was a Passive power that was always on shielding your Zoanthrope/Hive Tyrant if you paid the points for the ability for them.
warp field and synapse dont require a psychic test and the only reason that the warp blast would require it is if you were using the stronger blast other wise the hive mind is just powerful enough to keep everything working, you can find your answer on pg31 of the codex
it doesnt matter if they require a psychic test or not they still cast it. The way I'm reading it is that you can only use one of them per turn. Whether it be warp field, blast or synapse.
okay then it still wouldn't matter synapse is always in affect, warp blast is used on your turn and the warp field is used on your oppenents turn, regardless the thrope can use all the powers, it was designed to be used as a conduit for powers to attack the enemy and defend the hive
You can read it anyway you like my excellent man. You can read it on the toilet. suspended upside down. Having your bottom massaged with scintillating oils, whatever you wish.Originally Posted by LordLink
But the majority of people will agree say and concur that these are psychic based, but constant and innate powers.
There's no playing with marsupial bones and saying jooba jooba to the jongolongo in the sky to avoid bad juju.
Now I'm off to find some scintillating oils!
lol I better not be allergic to scintillating oils...
Don't get me wrong people I'm not trying to rules lawyer my way into crippling nids. I would like to see my theory proven wrong. What I'm trying to do is have an answer ready if this kind of thing comes at me.
But on to my second question what are some troops in a horde nids army? any genestealers? whats used for anti-tank? what should be synapse.
Or should I just post an army list and let people look at it?
My first thought was AAAAArrrrrrrgh hes right I've been using Zoanthropes wrong. So I looked up Pychic powers in the rule book and found 1/2 page on page 52. And that 1/2 page sucks. I expected to find a line saying you can only use one power a turn. It didnt. What it said was most pychic powers are used instead of shooting, but others are minor powers. It also referes you to the relevent Codex for rules.
So it seems that Synapse and Warp Field are minor. Warp Blast takes the place of shooting, and a thrope can only shoot once. So that seems to be the limit. Like a Warlock with conseal, fireing his shuriken pistol. Conseal is minor, doesnt take the place of shooting, so he can still shoot. Destructor counts as shooting, so he cant.
This interpetation seems to follow the rules, and seems to be what was meant for Thropes. But it has problems. By the same line of reasoning a Farseer could cast Guide, Fortune and then a shooting power like Mind War or Eldrict Storm. Obviously this is not meant to be the case.
Are there any psychic rules other than those on page 52? After reading them I'm more confused than ever.
Oh, and for small battles I prefere hordes and hordes of Spinegaunts(to fleet and pin) and Hormagaunts to kill.
That's a damn good point.
I've just found it, plain as day - Page 31 Tryanid codex.
The only power which requires a psychic test seems to be (rough foist glance) high end warp blast. And only this power seems to be affected by enemy wargear.
fluff wise, their abillity not to be troubled by the warp comes from their massive lack of presence (?) or void in the warp.
For hoard, I would say, stacks of hormies and gaunts with a generous smattering of stealers and rippers. What this army does for anti tank, I have little experience/idea.
But more importantly, if you're allergic to scintillating oils, I can recommend some delicious and refreshing creams.
After a 6 month conspiracy on psychic powers a FAQ was released saying that you could only use 1 per turn.
Also Karmoon even if the powers are constant that means they arent there for the 1st turn (if your opponent gets it) as you would still have to cast it. That could mean the difference between life and death when your synapse Hive Tyrant is getting hit by several hunterkiller/krak missiles.
I was thinking 12-20 genestealers /w scuttlers to block LoS with 1st turn cc. Then just t aking swarms and swarms of termagaunts to overwhelm them. 3 Zoanthropes for Synapse.
Now you see where my problem kicks in. Warp blast is also my only atni-tank so I will need it but will Synapse and Warp field interfere.