Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey guys, I played against an Eldar Player last Night, and he insisted on using something called a Solitare. this thing got 12 attacks on the charge, Initiative 8, WS 8, needed 2+ to wound, got hit only on 6s, had a 3+ Cover save even in combat, and ignored saves. And massacred 2d6. Add all that to a 6" + d6" + 12" Charge range, and you've got one hell of a beast, especially for the 130 points he payed for it. I just want to know if it was legal.
Cover save in combat and needing a 2 to hit aside for the solitare, I believe all of that was perfectly legal.
Don't remember if they have any harly gear that lets them have cover saves in combat, otherwise they have no save. That and no model can every hit on any roll better than a +3 so for that your opponent was cheating you.
Sounds like the solitare had a power weapon and harly kiss, which means he could only be wounding on 2's or ignoring armour saves. (Not both in the same round of combat)
Take my love, take my land, take me to where I cannot stand; I don't care I'm still free, you can't take the sky from me.
"The difference between gods and daemons largely depends upon where one is standing at the time."- Lorgar
Member of the Fluff Masters Clan
And his number of attacks varies depending on how far he charges so it isnt always 12
Yea, that's what he said, and he alwats charged less then 6", so that part is all good. thankls for all the help!
Not legal. For one thing, it's not even official; for another...Originally Posted by Ã†ther-MÃ˜Ã˜SE
Cover save is 4+. It does not apply in close combat, per sÃ©, but does give you initiative 10 if charged. It is also counterable by grenades.
Unless I'm mistaken (could be), Harlequins get no special Massacre! rules; these are a holdover from Third Edition and you can ignore them. Initiative + D6 essentially supercedes the Harlequin advance.
Harlequins do not wound on 2+ and ignore armour saves. It is one or the other. Secondly, he may not use Riveblades in conjunction with powerblades.
Of course, any Harlequin force with another army needs to follow the Detatchment rules in the 40k Rulebook.
He needs to charge 6" or less to gain the full power of Blitz.
He may also never join a squad.
Solitaire - 90
D-Field - 25
Harlequin's Kiss - 10
Powerblades - 15
Total: 140 points, assuming he has no additional weapon (+1 attack), grenades, or any masks other than Mask of Fear.
Taking out the Solitaire is easy unless you're Space Marines. With the Mask of Fear, the Solitaire tends to break any unit he charges; you then have your Shooting phase to kill him. Remember, he has no armour. Do take him out though, because unlike most expensive units (and he's not that costly) he'll make up his points cost fairly quickly.
It's legal in the sense that, like special characters (at least so far as I've done anything) it isn't normally disallowed by most opponents. In tournaments it's not legal, but then there's lots of stuff that isn't.
The Solitaire has a number of special rules - it's soulless, so mind war, neural shredders, neuro disruptors, force weapons and direswords would never work on it. It's completely fearless and basically never has to take a leadership test for anything. It's got the blitz attack (12" charge range max, and extra attack for every inch over 6" not used - i.e. +6 attacks if he charges 6" or less). It can fleet like all eldar, can't join any other unit, and is an independent character (for the purposes of targetting and combat).
The wargear it comes with normally is: mask of fear - you fight at -1 leadership in CC with it (and /any/ harlie model). Flip belt: it ignores terrain for movement (all harlies do) the 3d6 advance after combat no longer happens due to the overall rules change in 4th ed, however they should get to advance their initiative +2d6, rather than 1d6, since the rule states that they get 1d6 'more than normal'.
The holo field (which all harlequins have) gives them a 4+ cover save anywhere on the board, unless their local cover save is better. It also halves the weapon skill of opponents in CC. In CC it also applies (to paraphrase the rules they always gain the benefits of a defended obstacle unless assaulted by an enemy with grenades which negate cover (plasma or frag?) Harlequins receive no normal armour save in close combat.)
The solitaire can also have any harlequin wargear, including a nifty device called a domino field, which means you can only hit them in CC on a 6, regardless of weapon skill.
Then there's the phase field, which lets the Harlequin using it move 3d6 through the warp instead of normal movement (like a warp spider jump generator, but with no penalties for doubles). Note, he /cannnot/ phase and fleet in the same turn, but can shoot and charge as he likes.
Combine its normal mask of fear with a dread mask (meaning you have to leadership test on 1d6 more than normal) and he can shred most any unit, even with ld10. (he will probably slaughter a fair few, you'll be at -1 ld, and you'll be at a disadvantage to test).
To beat him? Shoot him, with template weapons preferrably. He costs a minimum of about 100 points, and I know I field mine at about 170-185 points - that's a big investment.
I do like to point out...
Reading technically, the rules for Harlequins are as such:
You may not combine two weapon effects, correct?
Technically, power blades are not a weapon - they are bought as wargear, and therefore, reading 100% technically, they can be combined with a Harlequin's Kiss to wound on 2+ and ignore normal armour saves.
Just playing devil's advocate here, as it is possible when you read the wording technically (bad wording/placement in the Armoury by GW).
This point has been argued to death, and most people have a stand on one side or the other, but just something to point out..
It has been argued to death, and you're right: it is poor wording. GW addressed the issue in a Citadel Journal, saying that Powerblades may not be combined with Harlequin's Kiss, although you still retain the +1 attack.Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
However, this is saying that people buy the Citadel Journals, etc. - GW releases a lot, some legal, some playtesting, some "legal playtesting," etc. etc.Originally Posted by Sophismata
Honestly, for those using the standard rules from the PDF on the GW website, I wouldn't have a huge issue with letting them have these super-powerful characters, combining Powerblades with the Harlequin's Kiss.
Harlequins, when prepared for, are one of the easiest armies to take down, so I find it natural that they should have something hugely powerful to counter it.
Using the EO rules, which I believe make the list more balanced, I wouldn't allow it because there is enough to make it a more competitive list, even when prepared for. :yes:
I agree; I think Harlequin's are weak enough as it is and that allowing powerblades to stack doesn't overpower them.Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
However; the standard rules from the PDF are also from Citadel Journal. In fact, even those rules are slightly out of date as the stats for the Death Jesters were changed. While not everyone buys the Journals, they are sourcing an army from those journals; just someone doesn't have a codex doesn't make everything in it inapplicable to them, does it?
Essentially, it doesn't bother me one way or the other what people use... but if someone asks "is it legal", they should be told the truth.
On another note, I have some issues with the EO rules, and would probably not allow them in a game. I would allow an opponent to stack powerblades and the Kiss, however.