Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I don't know if this should be in the rule section since it's very necron-specific, but here's my question:
Let's say I have a unit (scarab swarms) that occupies the whole main floor of a cityfight corner-shaped building, and there are imperial guards on the first and secon floord, not locked in any way. Now, I move the nightbringer outside the said corner and use the Etheric tempest ability. Are the guardsmen trapped while falling back (and thus destroyed), or are they able to flee around and between the scarabs?
The effect of Etheric Tempest on enemy units is exactly like Falling Back and as such they are vulnerable to "Trapped!", as described on page 48 of the rulebook. Also, keep in mind that an enemy model may not move within 1" of one of your models, so the unit falling back may not move through one of your squads.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
Would stubborn guards (from sacred ground stratagem) be affected by etheric tempest?
I believe the rule, in regards to falling back, is that you move in a straight line back to your deployment edge. I believe you may move around terrain but only around other enemy models with in a certain distance (the 1" Ostsol was talking about). In regards to stubborn guard, if its the same as the SM And they shall know no fear, then the unit will engage the enemy models in their fallback path. Lastily, I believe you have to be in combat in order to use etheric tempest and from how you described the position of the NB I don't think he is.
another thing: nightmare shroud and etheric tempest on the same unit, how does that work out?
You don't need to be in combat to use ET and yes stubborn guard are effected because ET doesn't cause a check, its just forces you to fall back. Even stubborn guard would be wiped out if they had their path blocked by the scarabs as stubborn gives no special defences against "Trapped!".
Nevermore Chapter: 6200 pts; 97/49/11; Longest Streak: 9 Wins/4 Losses; Nearing Completion
Do the unit in question need to pass a moral check to regroup?
Remember that they move x" directly away from the c'tan, not toward the board edge.
I would say that this would be awesome against massed nids, orks, dark eldar, or any army that feels the need to take its many weak models to get close to the c'tan. (Take that lancers!)
Yesterday, I played a "relief force" scenario against IG... My friend had about 60 guards massed into a central building with fortification stratagem... The first turn, I brought the NB near the building. By second turn, he was in CC with the guard by the end of second turn, he was flushing the building (which caused numerous casualties due to the building being a dangerous ruin after prelim. bomb.). The game was just not fun... We stopped at the end of turn 2. What I thought was a fun strategy turned out to be cheesy powergaming :cry: It's the second time I play his IG (my 3rd time overall with necrons) and every time i've absolutely mopped the floor with his forces... He can't wait to try his nids against me
It really wasn't. I mean, any other army with any sort of cc group (even flayed ones) would mop the building of them. After all, 60 guardsmen in relatively one spot is asking for close combat units to eat you alive, especially if the map is a small one. You used a c'tan, nids would use stealers, marines would use assault marines, chaos would use raptors, etc, etc. I mean, 60 guardsmen in one area with a defensive stratagem is going to be very weak to close combat units. The only thing that it is strong against is ranged units due to the healthy cover save, and even then a demo charge could probably obliterate the structure and severely hurt the guardsmen in it.
I mean even if you took a unit of destroyers, you probably could have charged them in and still inflicted many casualties, making people run, etc. Heck, if you took scarabs he still would have given up on turn 2, and they are really cheap. Now if he had taken some ogrins, then only MC's would have a good chance, but a guardsmen only army is only good in bigger boards where they can spread out and provide effective fields of fire. That, or they are specialized in cc, then they may be good in smaller maps.