Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had a game against a kid playing Guard today, and he was claiming that he had a rule that would let him merge the remnants of mauled squads within a platoon together. That sounded a little fishy to me - I'm unaware of any army that can essentially reform their units mid-game, although it's been well over a year since I read the IG book.
SOP for me in that sort of situation is to stop play and ask to see the Codex, but it was getting late and I wanted to move the game along. Plus he was kinda young and newbieish (I'm inclined to think that any mistake on his part was honest confusion and not deliberate cheating), and the game was already a massacre of his poor guardsmen by any standard; margin of victory was 900 points in a 1k point game, and 25% of my points value never even saw combat. At that point I was inclined to let him have a small boost. Besides - I had large units of warriors and I suspect that it actually HELPED me to have more models to shoot at because Necrons are so vicious against guardsmen.
But I thought I'd check here and see if it was kosher or not.
Example: Platoon consists of two squads of 10 guardsmen each. I kill five from each squad - is he allowed to merge the remnants into one squad of 10, or do they have to act seperately for the rest of the game (subject to morale penalties for 50% capacity and all that)?
He is wrong, but I understand where he is misreading the rules.
Under the Infantry Platoon army list entry, there is the option to take (as in pay points for) an extra squad in your infantry platoon at less than 10 guardsmen, said squad being composed of remnants of dead squads for fluff. It does not state that you may do this mid-game, however.
Guardsmen are not Orks.
Ahh, okay. I was hoping it was just a mistake. Poor kid got slaughtered miserably - why he didn't take one of his tanks (I saw a Leman Russ in his collection) is beyond me.
...So Orks do have a reform-ingame sort of rule?
I cant quote on anything, but i believe the orks do have something that falls along those lines. The extent and degree to which that is, i do not know
Yeah you're right, its called the mobbing up rule.
You are doomed, DOOMED I tell you!
For tonight we will feast on your very souls!
The IG have a rule called remnants. Fluffwise this is just squads teaming up and having a second crack at the enemy. Gamewise though this is all assumed to have happened beforehand and these remnants are taken before the game as part of the army list. Its basically just a way to get a squad that isnt strictly 10 man.
The summary of the ork special rule is that whenever they fall back and meet another squad behind them they simply join that squad, turn back round and keep on charging. This means that the squad is now big enough to be basically fearless again under their other special rule. Thats why its near impossible to send orks packing.
Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!
If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.
I can't believe anyone didn't say that we Necrons are able to do that! lol
Yeah, Necrons can do it by WBBing with a different squad than their original one; but they can't 'intentionally' do it.
Yeah, I wasn't really thinking of WBBing a completely destroyed squad because it's not deliberate or intentional in any way - just a weird consequence of the wording of the WBB rule.