Welcome to Librarium Online!
I have had a look around the forums but could not find anything on this, so I thought I would ask. Can necrons get back up from a WBB role within 1" of an enemy? The reason I ask is because nearly everything is destroyed if it does anything but assault within 1" of an enemy model (references below). Keep in mind I am not a necron player myself (though I play them often) and I do not have the necron codex to hand till next week.
Page refrences would be appreciated if you know a rule that negates the 'within 1" rule', though I am guessing it will be part of the WBB rule.
Anyhow, these are the references I could find that may be relvent:
BGB page 15, moving within 1" of a an enemy model.
BGB page 84, deepstriking within 1" of an enemy model.
BGB page 62, disembarking within 1" of an enemy model.
So let me get your situation straight:
A squad of Necrons takes casualties, and somehow an enemy unit ends up around the remnants such that they are 1" away from all of the remaining Necrons. When the Necrons who died make their WBB rolls, that squad is still so close. According to the pages you referenced (good idea) models may not come within 1" of enemy models in anything but the assault phase.
We're also assuming these casualties were not caused by an assault, in which case the returning Necrons would just be a part of the assault.
Hmmm... The rules for WBB were written before the 1" thing was included in the core rulebook, so they really don't clarify what happens in this case. However, this is not the same case as transports and DS really- technically, you were never supposed to have removed the Necrons from play until after failing the WBB.
Page 13 of the Necron Codex (the WBB paragraph) says that damaged Necrons ignore the normal coherency rules and cannot be attacked. It also says that repaired Necrons are immediately placed in coherency with the nearest unit of the same type, and only offers clarification for squads in CC.
I would say they just get back up where they are and the squad has broken coherency if there is not enough space. If the Necrons that were destroyed were effected by the 1" rule, that would also mean that the attacking unit would not be able to go within 1" of dead Necrons, which makes no sense. :wacko:
That seems pretty clear, though I hadn't realise that Necrons from a wiped squad were moved to within coherency of another squad if they passed WBB. That alone would have cleared up my question i think :wacko:
Oh, the "Necron Mob rule?" It is a bit obscure. Yes, squads which are fully wiped out repair with the nearest squad of the same type (also p.13). Just remember, your opponent needs that squad to be within 6" for it to work. the normal things which deny WBB still apply too. :sleep:Originally Posted by windbourne
I think the answer is yes, they can get up, they are simply placed at least 1" away from the enemy. There are multuiple references that allow models who make the WBB being able to get up within coherency, or if the unit is in combat then they get up and count as part of the combat but simply have to be placed out of base to base, so if they are allowed to get up and be placed out of base to base in combat i don't see why they can't normally.
I voted "no" , meaning that a Necron who made its wbb cannot be placed within 1" of an enemy model. After reading the comments so far I think I should have voted "yes".
Anyway, my take on this matter:
A Necron can take his wbb-roll, even if enemy models are within 1" (the Codex states that downed necrons are ignored for matters of coherency and such)
A necron who succeeds on his wbb cannot be placed within 1" of an enemy model if the unit he's added to is not in cc.
since it's virtually impossible to fully surround a squad so that there is no space to place a new model, I would not consider this too much of a problem.
Not in my game you won't!!
Yeah, thats pretty much how I've taken it Erehwon. Finding out that downed necrons are placed within coherency of the nearest like unit, rather than getting up and moving to coherency kind of removed the problem :yes:
Just make sure that the damaged Necron is within 6" of another Necron of the same type.
Now my question is... does that damaged Necron need to be within 6 inches of an 'Undamaged' Necron or does a damaged Necron work for this rule?
Oh hey! I didn't realize they were back up.