Welcome to Librarium Online!
So i was at my local gaming community and a situation arised. I had just Vod'd behind the enemy tyranid lines (slaughters whole unit of genestealers). Next turn he rolls great for fleet of foot... or something like that, and makes it within CC range. So he CC's my lord and the immortals right? wipes em all out too. Only problem is, they are ina ring formation around the lord (thats the way you have to set up a transporting unit) and we are wondering if the genestealers can concolidate into close combat again with the lord. I told him that the ring of immortals is treated as still being there, so he cant CC them. Everyone else in the store agreed and we left it at that.
But now for future refrence, i wanted to know whether or not i was right.
PS. The lord wasnt part of the unit, and he didnt have to be.
A few questions. Why would the immortals still count as being there? All the squad is dead so they don't even have a chance at WBB. Also i think this is wrong because otherwise you could use casualties caused by shooting to stop enemy units from assaulting you anyway, I think that if models that are down block the way then you just move them out of the way, thats how I always play it.
Yeah on top of the whole unit being dead and not being on the table, necrons waiting for WBB count as debris and have no bearing on movement, assault, or shooting so he could have assualted your lord.
Hehe, we just went over this in the thread on WBB within 1" of enemy models. :rolleyes:
In this case, the answer is obvious. Page 13 of the Necron codex states, firstly, that if there is no unit within 6" of the same type within 6", that the Immortals can't WBB and are removed as casualties. Problem solved.
If there were a squad within 6" (as in not VoD), then they wouldn't matter anyway because the same page (13) states that damaged Necrons "ignore the normal coherency rules" and "are treated as just more battlefield debris." So if you wanted to really rules lawyer, you could say that the immortals were debris and therefore cover, but that'd be really pushing the definition. :wacko:
Finally, to VoD, your lord must already be a part of the squad. The DS rules don't allow for multiple squads DSing together. Since the Lord and Immortals are a squad, the Lord is still a part of the combat, even if he didn't fight that turn because he was surrounded by Immortals.
Alright let me clarify. The lord DID have a res orb, and the lord DOSENT have to be part of the unit to VOD with them. He only has to be within 6"
The Orb doesn't matter. Unless the imortals were within 6" of another standing imortals, or within 12" of a Tomb Spyder with a standing imortal some where on the table, your unit would not get a WBB role. The Orb just allows units killed by 2X T weapons and CC weapons that ignore save to get a crack at a WBB role. It doesn't make them exempt from the other requirements for WBB.
hmmm now thats interesting. albino, u are in the wrong for most things there. but one thing u seem to be right about is that the lord doesnt need to be part of the squad to VoD a squad. just within 6 inches of that squad. I have always played it that u do need to be a part of the squad. The codex doesnt seem to say anywhere that u need to be (quick skim read). Maybe the lord ends up a part of the squad he veils with. It would be good if someone could clarify this
I've double checked this, and it does not say that he has to be in the squad. The only requirments are that he's within 6". But you can go to the Necron GW forums if you like.
Last edited by AlbinoAlien; September 3rd, 2006 at 04:12.
That part is correct.Originally Posted by AlbinoAlien
But whether they are all dead or awaiting WBB your opponent can still reach your Lord.
And over there we have the labyrinth guards.
One always lies, one always tells the truth, and one stabs people who ask tricky questions.
First, they can get to your lord.
Second, why would you even care? You just veil away during your turn (as it is your turn and consolidation does not allow more blows to be struck) and pick up another unit or whatever.
"When a necron gets hit with a weapon more than double its toughness it is hit so hard that it goes into "negative damage" and does less damage than it actually would if it hit him with less force!" Quote from azimaith on Warseer, contemplating how much GW will Nerf the WBB rules.