Hammer Head's SMS - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oshawa, Ontario, CA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Hammer Head's SMS

    I have been wondering this ever since i got my Tau army it's first Hammer head.

    The SMS in the codex says it's assault 4 and the hammerhead has 2 pods. Now does this make the weapon system 4 twin-linked shots or 8 shots per weapon pod?


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Member Durandal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    122
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    The two pods make up ONE Smart Missile System. The Hammerhead can be armed with one, and only one, smart missile system. It will never get 8 shots, it is not twin-linked. A vehicle or battlesuit armed with the SMS gets 4 shots from it, no more, no less, no rerolling misses, no matter how much it looks like it's twin-linked.

  4. #3
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,497
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x0)

    I confirm that.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oshawa, Ontario, CA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Well then that just bites on one end, but at least it's not broken. Thanks for teh confirmation...

  6. #5
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,497
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x0)

    It's not so bad, it's got longer range than the Burst cannons, and does not nead LOS, which can prove useful when playing tag with a squad with a melta. It is 10 more points, though.

    I'd say 60-70% of people say the Burst cannons are prefferable. I use one of each.

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oshawa, Ontario, CA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Can you mount one Burstcannon and one SMS on the Hammerhead? or do both pods have to have teh same weapon system in it. I only ask because my Tau army is an O'Shovah army list, yeah i know i limit my choices but i like O'Shovah.

  8. #7
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,497
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x0)

    Your Choice is two burst cannons, or one SMS. 6 shots (that can fire at two different squads) at 18", or 4 at 24" that don't need LOS.

    I feel a little like I'm reading the codex to you, man, this is all right there. Read it a little more thogoughly, no skimming.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Oshawa, Ontario, CA
    Age
    41
    Posts
    87
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Sorry, just the way i read your last post confused me. I am used to playing my one HH only army that it never occured to me that you meantthat you use one HH with BC and another with SMS.

  10. #9
    LO Zealot Arakiaz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    In a cave underneath the great mountains gaurding a treassure you'll never find
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,228
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x3)

    Yeah you can't have both a SMS and a burst cannon. You have to choose either one SMS or two seperate burst cannons. The reasons why most says two burst cannons is:

    1) most of the time you won't use your secondary weapon since your primary have a long range and is nasty

    2) you'll get 6 S5 shoots instead of 4 ( I know that you'll need LOS and they have a shorter range but I'll say that they +2 shots make up for that)

    3) they are 10 pts cheaper than the SMS, 10 pts you can use otherwhere in the army
    Dragons do flame.... but only when they are upset or they want to


    According to new signature rules my hydra (the only reason for it to be here was to please Caluin) have been removed. But still dragons pwnz hydras anytime

  11. #10
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,497
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    21 (x0)

    Well, I ususally get a shot off with the secondary weapons about half the time. That is the main reason to get the SMS, you'll have a shot more often.

    But yeah, mostly what he said.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts