Welcome to Librarium Online!
In the ork faq for lootas, they not only get the weapon choices of the looted squad but the transport options of the squad.
So i was in deep thought last night and i thought you may be able to purchase a drop pod for your lootas. I would like peoples opinions on this as i think it could be a hilarous thing to do.
IMHO i think that loota's wouldn't be able to take a drop pod.
A drop pod is essentually "fired" down to planetside by the battle barge, and as i'm pretty sure that a marine chapter would rather die than loose their precious battle barge to a bunch of greenskins, i can't see it happening.
Once a drop pod makes planet fall, it is also then out of fuel, i'd like to see how an ork would be able to recover it and then try and get it onto the floating wrecks they use in space.
I'm sure the fluff masters and vetrans out there will have some more points to add to this.:yes:
But my two cents says "heeeelllllllsssssss no!"
SON'S OF TERRA......... Your defeat, its the emperor's will
I have so so so often wanted to get an Airborne Deathskull army done. Just image 6 units of Lootas Drop-podding onto the battlefield, and 3 Fighta-Bomma's zooming around in the sky. It'd be awesome.
Unfortunately I can't say if it's allowed or not. The entry does indeed say you can use the transport option for the squad you use, so technically a Tactical Squad Loota Mob should be able to.
[edit: I've just called a staff member I know, and he's agreed that since they are a Transport Option for Tactical Squads, they are a transport option for Lootas. So hah!)
Last edited by Ravendove; October 18th, 2006 at 09:44.
Wrong, droppods do not appear in the sqaud options list, the razorback and rhino are there but not the droppod, it's a geveral ability for the army.
i posted this question on the waaagh a while ago and the answer i got was no but fluff wise you could use the as ork roks which would be cool.
"Some days you're the Mekboy building the kannon, the rest you're the grot being blown up by it."
- Quote attributed to Sorkrates, before his much mourned death due to ingestion of Hemsquig Juice.
"Dis iz my choppa, and herez me gun. Dat's for killin' and so'z dis one!"
- Bloodaxe Kommando Warchant
you could always drop down behind cover maybe or even make it so you cannot move but you can charge and shoot as normal "get em ladz!"I don't like the idea of having the boys stand out in the middle of a brand new target where they can get shot at repeatedly.
I agree with them being used as roks, then you could have a very iinteresting (and a hell of a lot cheaper) conversion project:yes:
So go for it!!! ORKS IN THE HOLE!!!!!!!!!!
-The God of all Machines
Lord_Talonis, why would the orks need to refuel them or get them into space to use them? I'm sure some mekboy could build a large catapult or cannon to fire them short distances for assaulting into fortresses and cities. :x
If you drop a shell on your foot an it don't urt, your shoota aint big enough!
This is a correct interpretation of the drop pod rule sand the completed reason as to why Lootas cannot take drop pods. I attempted to use them myself for death skulls and then an experience marine player went over the codex with me, finding an agreement between us that is is not allowed. For fluff purposes its perfectly conceivable, but for game play/ competitive gaming your out of luck.
40K-Beakies(9-14-4),Guard(4-7-2),Orks(34-12-11). FANTASY-Dwarves(15-6-7),Beasts (14-14-1), Skaven (17-17-10) DoC (6-1-2). CYGNAR (28-15-1)