Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just need a little clarification here please.
Scarabs move as jetbikes so they are able to turbo boost. When Turbo boosting their save becomes Inv. Now in the turbo boost rule in the BBB it says that jetbikes cannot enter difficult terrain, fair enough. Now in the scarab entry they are not considered jetbikes and it only says they move 'like' jetbikes. It also says that they are able to move through cover.
So can my scarabs turbo boost 24 into cover (where a normal model would get a 4+ cover save) and now get an Inv(for moving 24) 3+ cover (small target rule) save?
Yes the Inv and cover save are the same but you could move 24 into the open and get a 5+ Inv save. I think I may have worked it out here while typing this but I still think it best to clarify.
Okay, here is how it works. If you move your scarabs the normal 12" then they may enter difficult terrain and so can benefit from the +1 to whatever cover save they get. They can still opt to fly above the difficult terrain so they don't have to test, or they can enter it and roll the normal dangerous terrain test. If you turbo boost then you can't enter difficult terrain as is stated by the turbo boost rules, this means that you can't benefit from a cover save and so the +1 is completely irrelevant. Your cover save and your invulnerable save are completely different. This means that your question about turbo boosting into cover isn't relevant because you can't. The fact that you are moving like a jetbike means that you follow all the same rules and effects.
I hope that made sense,
The entry in the necron codex says that they count as jetbikes for movement purposes i believe (friend is borrowing codex so cant be sure). But what that means is that if they choose to turbo-boost like jetbikes can, then they follow all the rules of being a jetbike meaning they cant move through difficult terrain. If you choose not to turbo boost you can move the standard 12" through terrain and ignore it, or land inside it and get a +1 to your save
Evil Exodus - That is the way that I thought I had figured it out.
Gazboy - Also agreed except for the difficult terrain test as they move though cover.
Thanks for the fast reply guys.
I didn't say that they needed to take a difficult terrain test, i said dangerous terrain test. THis means that they have to roll for each unit and on a one they die. This is what all jetbikes, bikes ect. roll when they enter difficult terrain, the point is that you can also choose to hover over it.
Like the rest of you I don't have the codex in front of me but if i am understanding your posts you're all wrong. Scarabs can move as jetbikes which will include the turbo-boost however they do not receive the +1 to save (FAQ or rulebook, I don't remember). They do not have to take difficult or dangerous terrain tests.
Mike, if they are moving as jetbikes and they enter difficult terrain, yes they can opt to fly above it but then they don't benefit from the save, then they have to roll for dangerous terrain like all jetbikes.
Ok, that is now clear. Now I cannot turbo boost into cover, but I can make a normal 12' move into cover, get the +1 on the cover save but I must make a dangerious terrain test. What if I only move say 5' (less than 6') do I also make a dangerious terrain test? I would think yes, because it is a jetbike.
you would be correct. For all movement purposes, scarabs count as jet bikes except for where their own special rules state otherwise. So no matter how far or how fast you move, you are a jetbike. If jetbikes would have to take a test, then so do scarabs
Evil Exodus is right. You are a jetbike for all movement no matter how far you do or do not move.