Welcome to Librarium Online!
Only me once more... just need to get something clarified in my head as I am not too sure about it. I dont have the rulebook to hand and I remember my friend and I arguing about it.
If I have 10 Kroot and 5 doggies and I get attacked by something with initiative 4, who strikes first? Is it majority initiative like most things? i.e. they strike first cos my majority is the kroot with init 3?
Or as I said it should have been, the 5 doggies attack first, then the init 4, then the kroot?
Please Help out this noob that is I :rolleyes:
You will strike in initiative order. ther is no majority I like majority armoursave (still don't get how it works). so YOU are right.
-lurking in the shadows of LO.
Officially diagnosed by TekoreMelkhior, Necrarch Lord
Yep, initiative order is right. If they have the same int. then they will strike at the same time. If the int. 4 unit has something like furious charge, they get a +1 to their int. for the turn they charged but after that they go back to their original intitive. I had a player try to argue that they get it for each turn after the charge also.
The other thing you need to keep in mind, were your kroot in cover at the time? If they were then they attack first no matter who has what inititive.
I've added hounds to my kroot unit and they pack quite a punch. :yes:
If any Kroot are engaged then they will be attacked by opponents models first (INT4), any Kroot killed will not get their attacks, then finally the Kroot that are left attack the remaining opponents models
This is why it is always advisable to get the hounds into B2B first, also note that it is advisable to take casualties from the Kroot to allow the Kroot hounds to use their superior INT for tests for combat resolution as the majority INT is used.
Hope that helps
well, the kroot don't have to be in b2b. They can be within 2" of b2b. But make sure they're near the front, anyway.
If they are within the 2" of a friendly model in B2B its all good.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
So the best method is to get all the Kroot hounds in B2B and have the Kroot all within 2 inches, then you get the all the units attacks when facing units upto INT5, and you can take casualties from either, just make sure you have the same number of Kroot hounds or more than the Kroot so you can use their INT for LDS tests.
well, if you have kroot in front, hounds behind......the hounds still get to go at I5 and strike, regardless of whether the kroot got killed or not. Now if you were dealing with I6 it'd be different, but still.
I guess you have come up with a very exclusive case where putting the hounds in front would be better, and there's certainly no reason not to. Still, peolple shouldn't frak out about it, most of the time it won't matter at all.
If you dont get youur Kroot hounds in range of that Chaplain or power weapon equiped sarge then your going to be in a world of hurt, at least if you ENSURE your Kroot hounds are in B2B by putting them in 1st you know you have a chance of taking them down
Last edited by Rikimaru; November 1st, 2006 at 01:32.
It's exclusive in that you'd need a I 6 character for it to matter or not, otherwise the hounds get to go as long as they're within 2" of the front, regardless of whether the kroot are killed or not.