Rules Questions - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Rules Questions

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Age
    44
    Posts
    89
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    Rules Questions

    Ok...a couple of points I am unclear on...

    1) Do MCs block line of sight for your own critters? I know that Tau with skimmers can use the devilfish to block LOS, but still be able to shoot underneath...

    2) Do creatures with the Fearless rule have to take pinning tests?

    3) Do units have to take targeting priority tests to shoot at a MC that is not the closest to the unit?

    Thanks!


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Ahhhhh.... nekochen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    110 (x4)

    All of the answer can be find in the rulebook..
    1) Yes, all Monstrous Creature and Non-skimmer Vehicle do block line of sight. Skimmers do not block line of sight, if anyone uses Fish or Fury tactic and purposily park the vehicle infront so he may shoot through but you may not, then he's cheating you.

    2) Nope, under the universal rule found in the rulebook, a model with Fearless ability passes all moral check and pinning tests automatically.

    3) No, MC and Vehicles do not require a Target Priority test to shoot at them unless they are not the closest MC or/and vehicle. If you have more than one MC and/or vehicles on the table, then your opponent will have to test Target Priority shooting pass the first one.
    Anima Tactics - try it out!

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Age
    36
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    14 (x1)

    The Tau player needs to read the rules. The less charitable answer is he's cheating. Skimmers do not block line of sight. If you blow it up then it's a wreak and then it blocks lin of sight. But if his guys can shoot under the skimmer yours can to.
    May your aim be true, and your targets plentiful.

  5. #4
    Game Over boys macewind's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Middlesbrough, uk
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,048
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    425 (x7)

    he didnt say what the devilfish was blocking. It can block los for other skimmers cant it?

  6. #5
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by macewind View Post
    he didnt say what the devilfish was blocking. It can block los for other skimmers cant it?
    Short answer nope. Longer answer no way bob. Full answer:

    Tau can land their skimmers, thus making them count as a normal vehicle. This means they block LOS to all troops, not just enemy. Short of that or being destroyed, skimmers NEVER block LOS. Not to other skimmers, not to MCs, not to CC, not to friends or enemies.
    Last edited by tarzen; November 22nd, 2006 at 19:09. Reason: fixed a mistype of skimmers that neo pointed out
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

  7. #6
    Ahhhhh.... nekochen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Toronto
    Age
    34
    Posts
    1,233
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    110 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by tarzen View Post
    Short answer nope. Longer answer no way bob. Full answer:

    Tau can land their skimmers, thus making them count as a normal vehicle. This means they block LOS to all troops, not just enemy. Short of that or being destroyed, vehicles NEVER block LOS. Not to other skimmers, not to MCs, not to CC, not to friends or enemies.
    Right, I just like to add a little more. Skimmers never block line of sight to anything, and they do not get the benefit of being hull-down (obscured target) behind an area terrain, nor do they get any benefit for staying inside an area terrain, ex. Forest. If a Skimmer is inside of an area terrain, do not measure the 6" see-in-see-out distance, skimmer is always floating over the piece of terrain in question so it's clearly visible to any within LoS.
    Anima Tactics - try it out!

  8. #7
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by nekochen View Post
    Right, I just like to add a little more. Skimmers never block line of sight to anything, and they do not get the benefit of being hull-down (obscured target) behind an area terrain, nor do they get any benefit for staying inside an area terrain, ex. Forest. If a Skimmer is inside of an area terrain, do not measure the 6" see-in-see-out distance, skimmer is always floating over the piece of terrain in question so it's clearly visible to any within LoS.
    This is mostly right. But they certainly DO GET hull down if BEHIND area terrain or terrain that block LOS to 1/2 a side. But youa re 100% correct that they cannot claim the area terrain/terrain that they ARE IN.
    My armies:
    16,000+ of Eldar (only need flyers)
    7,000+ of Nids (want heirophant)
    6,000+ of Space Marines (need rever titan)
    4,400+ of Cygnar (all models for the faction)
    1,500+ of Legion (just started)

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts