Welcome to Librarium Online!
I have a few questions on the scarabs created by the spyder, the codex was not very clear of my brain is too slow. probably both.
- In the shooting phase, the TS will be hit based on a toughness of 3 which not too good. Do they bring any advantage in the shooting phase?
- when can I create a scarabs in the move or assault phase?
- can I create a scarab while I am already in CC?
- say I have 2 scarabs with my TS. do I have to roll 2 D6 (a wound with a 1) on each turn, or do I have to do it only when I created them?
I'll answer what I can. I play a 9 TS/30 Scarab army (affectionately known as the Spider Wall) and these are my experiences:
1. The biggest downfall, yes, is that T6 Tomb Spyders will now have T3 for enemy shooting purposes. To compensate for this, you get more wounds.
Remember: Even though the "unit" is T3, Scarab wounds will always be taken first because they are the majority. This should help keep you alive.
2. I believe it's beginning of turn, but don't quote me because I don't have the codex on me.
3. I don't think so.
4. Heavens no! You only roll the dice when you create the swarm.
Scarabs are wonderful wonderful things, but you need to be careful when using them with a Tomb Spyder. Although you can increase the number of unit wounds, this comes at a price - the unit Toughness and Armour Save is lowered. There's also a 1/6 chance of losing a wound on the Spyder.
Since TS's will inevitable draw a lot of fire, I try to keep them out of the way on the first turn, so by the time the enemy is close enough to fire the Spyders will already have 2/3 swarms with them.
I think of Tomb Spyder/Scarab Swarm units as the Necron equivalent of the Space Marine hidden powerfist, use the Swarms to get the Spyders into combat where they can rip stuff up!
The TS spawns the scarabs in the assault phase when the TS is not in CC or if it is in range and can assault
I have noticed the Tomb Spyder has had a bit of a renaissance lately. I see it on more tables and played in more lists. It's a great unit and one of the best means to support a list composed primarily of foot-slogging Warriors or a Phalanx.
WHFB: Dwarfs || WH40k: Imperial Fists, Necrons || WM/H: Trollbloods || BFG: Necrons
The Necron Codex says - At the start of the assault phase, if the spyder is not in close combat, you can create a scarab swarm.
How do you guys play it? Can the spyder create a swarm then charge? or cause the charge is also at the start of the assualt phase he counts as in combat?
The rule says nothing either way imo.
Either Assault or make Scarabs- pick one
A thread recently made an excellent point regarding the whole Movement/Scarabs/Toughness debacle.
In a nutshell-
First two turns of movement, coupled with making scarabs, adds extra inches on your move towards the opponents deployment zone (or wherever you are heading). Coherency, the scarab bases.... you can wipe off a turn of movement and assault a turn before you usually could! This helps comphensate for the reduced toughness, although if you are taking damage on the trundle up the table then you won't resist as many wounds once you finally hit combat. I aim for 4th turn, to take into account the extra scarabs but also manouvering around terrain so everything stays alive Slow, but eye opening for the opponent once all those swarms get generated. One of the many benefits of the 'Spider Wall' :party2:
+Either way, this thread seems to have served it's purpose, and is very old. *cough*
Last edited by jONESIE; January 29th, 2008 at 04:29.
LO RULESOriginally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad